DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Murray Voted Rugby Players Ireland Player of the Year

11th May 2017 By The Editor

Murray Voted Rugby Players Ireland Player of the Year

Rugby Players Ireland Player's Awards, Clayton Hotel, Ballsbridge, Dublin. Players’ Player of the Year Award Winner Conor Murray ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

For the third year in a row a Munster player has been awarded the Player’s Player of the Year.

Conor Murray joined previous winners CJ Stander (2016) and Paul O’Connell (2015) in receiving the accolade last night in Dublin where the Limerick-man was voted the Players’ Player of the Year 2017 by his fellow players at the 15th annual Awards ceremony.

Murray, who was recently called up to Warren Gatland’s British & Irish Lions squad, has become integral for both club and country and is widely acknowledged as one of the best scrum-halves in the world. Murray, outstanding as Ireland claimed their first ever victory over the All Blacks in Chicago, continued his fine form into the Six Nations, whilst he also fronted Munster’s march through the PRO12 season.

Murray won the award ahead of his provincial teammate CJ Stander and Leinster’s Robbie Henshaw, while Tadhg Furlong – who was also nominated – took home the Supporters’ Player of the Year 2017.

On receiving his award Murray commented: It has been an incredible season and one that I have thoroughly enjoyed. We have had our challenges and some sad days along the way, but to have both Munster and Ireland performing at the highest level has been very satisfying. Being recognized in this way by my peers is special – I just hope that I can continue to do my job in the important games that are to come.”

For the second year in a row, Tipperary’s Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe claimed the Women’s 7s Player of the Year.

Meanwhile, Garry Ringrose was named as the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year 2017 after cementing his place in the Irish midfield and further impressing for Leinster as they progressed to the latter stages of both domestic and European competition. The award was presented by Spence’s former teammate, Craig Gilroy.

Joining Ireland’s heroes in the Hall of Fame was former Leicester and Ireland full-back Geordan Murphy. Connacht’s Ronan Loughney, a member of the Rugby Players Ireland Executive Board, was awarded the Medal for Excellence, which rewards on-field effort combined with off-field commitment to the game.

The Contribution to Irish Society, was presented to both Hannah Tyrrell and Jake Heenan in recognition of their work in their respective communities.

The Women’s XVs Player of the Year 2017 as voted by members of the Ireland squad was presented to Lindsay Peat for several outstanding performances in what is a momentous year for the women’s game in Ireland.

While both the men and women just fell short in their respective Six Nations campaigns, there were several moments throughout the season that will always be remembered fondly. However, members of the public determined that Ireland’s victory over the All Blacks was the Rugby Moment of the Year via Twitter. The award was collected by Donnacha Ryan who played a significant role in the Soldier Field win.

Simon Keogh, acting CEO of Rugby Players Ireland commented: Winning a Rugby Players Ireland award is one of the highest honours a player can receive in the game here in Ireland. There have been many great achievements by Irish players this year, but to be acknowledged by your teammates and opponents in this manner shows just how much of an impact you have made throughout the season. I am thrilled for Conor who has enjoyed a fantastic season, reaching a level of consistency that few can match.” 


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Watch our first interview with new Attack Coach Mike Prendergast as he returned to the province this summer from Top 14 side Racing 92, where...