DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Win In Musgrave Park

12th October 2013 By Munster Rugby

Munster Win In Musgrave Park

The Munster U18 Clubs claimed a 24-6 victory over Ulster in the final game of their interprovincial series today at Musgrave Park.

The Munster U18 Clubs claimed a 24-6 victory over Ulster in the final game of their interprovincial series today at Musgrave Park.

The opening score came off the boot of Ulster centre Jack McCool just 30 seconds into the game.

Munster’s Paul O’Keeffe from Kanturk RFC failed to equalise on the three minute mark when his penalty attempt"Munster's drifted to the right and wide.

One minute later scrum-half Ryan Minihan made a break just outside Ulster’s 22 getting over the line for the first try of the match. O’Keeffe added the extras bringing the scoreline to 7-3 in Munster's favour.

A scrum infringement saw McCool make no mistake in taking his second penalty opportunity to close Munster’s lead to 7-3 in the seventh minute.

Five minutes later Tralee man Josh Barnes ploughed through the Ulster defense for the second try of the match which saw O’Keeffe add the extras giving Munster a 14-6 advantage at the break.

On the thirty eight minute full-back Joe White got over the line for Munster with replacement kicker Mike Mullally for the injured O'Keeffe narrowly missing the conversion.

Try number four came from Munster prop Ben Betts after 43 minutes which Mullally failed to convert finishing up 24-6 to the home side.

Munster U18 Clubs: Joe White (Clonakilty RFC); Paul O’Keeffe (Kanturk RFC), Tim Cronin (Bantry Bay RFC), Mike Mullaly (Tralee RFC), Brian Fanning (Bruff RFC); Hugh O’Brien Cunningham (Garryowen FC), Ryan Minihan (Young Munster RFC); Philip Poillot (Clonakilty RFC), Dylan Power (Waterpark RFC), Ben Betts (Young Munster RFC); Sean O’Leary (Capt.) (Midleton RFC), Josh Barnes (Tralee RFC); Karl Madden (Young Munster RFC), Robert Walsh (Waterpark RFC), David Pierce (Waterpark RFC) Replacements: Philip Daly (Abbeyfeale RFC), Paddy Butler (Highfield RFC), Luke Cantwell (Waterpark RFC), Michael Casey (Bantry Bay RFC), Aaron Dunne (Thomond RFC), Isaac Mansfield Daly (Waterpark RFC), Robert Smith (Clonakilty RFC), James O’Connor (Tralee RFC).

Ulster U18 Clubs: Andrew Hutchinson (Banbridge RFC); James Waugh (Banbridge (RFC), Jack Murphy (Malone (RFC), Jack McCool (City of Derry RFC), Evan Burke (Cavan RFC); Jason Gribbon (Banbridge RFC), Josh Cromie (Banbridge RFC); Dermot Gallagher (Donegal Town RFC) Adam McBurney (Capt.) (Randalstown RFC), Jonathon Rosbotham (Dromore); Ronan McCusker (Rainey Old Boys RFC), Kieran Thompson (Ballymena RFC); Ross Bingham (Dromore RFC), Jonathan Stewart (Carrickfergus RFC), Cory Logan (City of Derry RFC) Replacements: Niall Farrelly (Virginia RFC), Cody Magill (Newry RFC), Ben Halliday (Malone RFC), Matthew McMaster (Dromore RFC), Christopher Wilson (Dromore RFC), Conor Cambridge (Carrickfergus RFC), Cameron Cromie (Banbridge RFC), Ryan Purvis (Portadown RFC).

Referee: Garry Glennon


Munster's Robert Walsh from Waterpark RFC


Mike Mullaly and Hugh O'Brien Cunningham tackle Jack McCool from Ulster


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are now inviting applications for two part-time Women’s Rugby Participation Officers. See full details and apply below. The province is also recruiting for...