DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Women Interpro Champions 2012

17th December 2012 By jess

Munster Women Interpro Champions 2012

The Munster Women’s rugby team, sponsored by Keanes Jewellers, regained the Women’s Interprovincial Championship title on Saturday in a closely fought encounter with last year’s champions Leinster.

Courtesy of Women's PRO Olivia O'Sullivan

Both sides came into this game knowing that a win would ensure the title having each secured victories over both Connacht and Ulster. The game ended in a 15-12 win for the visitors and sees the trophy return south to Munster for the sixth time in seven years. The win reaffirms their position as the leading province in women’s rugby on this island.

The final game saw Munster get the first points on the board as Niamh Kavanagh touched down after 25 minutes. Leinster converted a try before half time which left them 7-5 up at the break but the second half was barely underway when Ashling Hutchins got in for a try on the right wing to take Munster three points ahead. Leinster nosed ahead shortly after however, until the 70 minute mark when Gillian Bourke got in for Munster’s third try. Great defensive work as the minutes counted down saw the game finish 15-12 to Munster and jubilant celebration from the team.

Munster travelled to Belfast in the first round of the championship, defeating Ulster 36-10 with Niamh Briggs scoring two tries and three conversions, Ashling Hutchins two tries, and tries also for Niamh Kavanagh and Anna Caplice.

In the second round, the Connacht Women travelled to Musgrave Park for a game that finished 24-3 to Munster. Anna Caplice, captain Heather O’Brien and Niamh Briggs were the try scorers on the day with Briggs adding a penalty and slotting over all three conversions.

As the championship trophy was presented to captain Heather O’Brien on Saturday, she commended Leinster for such a tough final contest, and said the celebrations at the final whistle showed just what this victory meant to the girls in red.

Munster: Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians), Ashling Hutchins (UL Bohemians), Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians), Laura O'Mahony (Tralee), Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians), Nicole Fitzgerald (UL Bohemians), Louise Costello (UL Bohemians), Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians), Chris Fanning (Highfield), Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians), Heather O' Brien (Capt.) (Highfield), Orlaith Buckley (Highfield), Anna Caplice (UL Bohemians), Siobhan Fleming (Tralee), Joy Neville (UL Bohemians). Replacements: Leah Barbour (UL Bohemians), Kathryn Buggy (Shannon), Laura Guest (Highfield), Karen Casey (Highfield), Ciara Griffin (Tralee), Clara Bracken (Highfield), Nicola Scully (Highfield).

Leinster: Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock), Aoife Tyrell (Blackrock), Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere), Carrie Hanley (Blackrock), Elise O’ Byrne-White (Old Belvedere), Shannon Houston(Blackrock), Charlene Barter (UL Bohemians), Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians), Finnoula Gleeson(Old Belvedere), Ailis Egan(Old Belvedere), Orla Fitzsimons(St. Mary’s) , Marie-Louise Reilly (Capt.) (Old Belvedere), Carmela Morey(Cill Dara), Aoife Ryan (Old Belvedere), Sharon Lynch (Garda). Replacements: Anne-Marie Rooney (St.Mary’s), Deirdre O’Brien (UL Bohemians), Roisin O’Donnell (Old Belvedere), Ruth McElroy (Old Belvedere), Emer McManamly (Blackrock), Kim Flood (Railway Union), Sarah-Jane Cody (UL Bohemians).

Munster Women Interprovincial Championship Round-Up:

December 2nd 2012 1.00pm
Queen’s University, Belfast
Ulster 10 Munster 36
{Sportsground: Connacht 0 Leinster 20}

December 8th 2012 2.30pm
Musgrave Park, Cork
Munster 24 Connacht 3
{Ashbourne: Leinster 24 Ulster 20}

December 15th 2012 1.30pm
Ashbourne RFC
Leinster 12 Munster 15
{Sportsground: Connacht 5 Ulster 18}


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Watch our first interview with new Attack Coach Mike Prendergast as he returned to the province this summer from Top 14 side Racing 92, where...