DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Heineken Cup Win In Parc Y Scarlets

10th December 2011 By Munster Rugby

Heineken Cup Win In Parc Y Scarlets

A 38th minute Ronan O’Gara penalty had Munster leading Scarlets 11-8 at half time in Llanelli.

Munster recovered from a poor start that saw them trail 8-0 to an Adam Shingler try and Rhys Priestland penalty with less than ten minutes gone.

In that opening quarter they were guilty of a plethora of unforced errors but cut down on these to fashion a marvellous try in the 30th minute that saw James Coughlan and Johne Murphy do extremely well to send Niall Ronan on his way to the tryline.

Priestland drew the sides level on the 50th minute but O'Gara extended the margin to six points after two more penalties before Stephen Jones kicked the final score in the 68th minute to give Munster a 17-14 victory in round three of the Heineken Cup in Parc Y Scarlets. 

Munster: D Hurley; J Murphy, W Chambers, L Mafi, S Zebo; R O'Gara, C Murray; W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; D Ryan, P O'Connell capt; P O'Mahony, N Ronan, J Coughlan. Replacements: D Fogarty, M Horan, J Hayes, D O'Callaghan, D Leamy, T O'Leary, I Keatley, D Barnes.

Scarlets: D Newton; L Williams; S Williams, J Davies, S Lamont; R Priestland, G Davies; I Thomas, M Rees capt, R Thomas; S Timani, D Welch; A Shingler, R McCusker, B Morgan. Replacements: K Owens, P John, D Manu, K Murphy, J Edwards, T Knoyle, S Jones, V Iongi.

Referee: R Poite.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Tadhg Beirne's try for Munster away to Toulouse in January has been named as the Champions Cup's Try of the Season for 2022/23. It was...