DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Horan Joins An Elite Group

2nd December 2011 By Munster Rugby

Horan Joins An Elite Group

Marcus Horan will become just the seventh Munster player to be capped 200 times when he steps out on the Liberty Stadium pitch on Saturday evening for Munster’s RaboDirect PRO12 game against Ospreys.

The 34 year old made his senior debut against Dunvant (Wales) in August 1999 and the first of those 200 caps came a week later in the Interprovincial championship match against Leinster in Temple Hill as a replacement for John Hayes.

His first Heineken Cup cap followed in November 1999 in the game against Pontypridd at Thomond Park, this time replacing Peter Clohessy and in December that same year came his first European start alongside Keith Woods and Hayes, in the game against Colomiers played at Les Sept Deniers.

That was the first time Munster recorded a victory on French soil in a season that saw Munster reach their first Heineken Cup Final. He was on the bench that day and again in 2002 to experience further heartbreak but he was the regular loose-head by the time Munster won the title in 2006 and again played a crucial part in their 2008 march to the title.

It is a testimony to his professionalism and dedication that after 13 seasons he still commands inclusion in perhaps the most ferocious area of the modern game and his current coach and former playing colleague, Anthony Foley, himself the first Munster player to reach 200 caps, recognised that when he said. “Having played and worked with Marcus, I've seen first hand the sort of work ethic and application he brings to the game. And he's been doing that week in week out over the past 13 seasons.”

“Remember too he's had his share of time out with illness and injury,” Foley continues, “and we recognise the test of endurance he's had to face and yet still managed to accumulate 200 caps. I think that says it all about the man.”

“He's been a massive servant to Munster and the game in general and sets an example to others of what it takes to be worthy to wear the Munster jersey.”


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

There are five Munster representatives on the list of URC award winners for the 2023/24 season with Jack Crowley, Graham Rowntree, Shane Daly, Tadhg Beirne...