DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Botha Included In Munster Squad.

6th September 2011 By Munster Rugby

Botha Included In Munster Squad.

Munster today named a 26 strong squad for the RaboDirect PRO12 Round Two game against Glasgow Warriors in Firhill next Friday.

It includes BJ Botha who resumed training this week having been forced out of the pre-season friendly game against London Wasps with a calf injury. Originally the timeframe for a return to action was a month and although he's ahead of that schedule management will monitor his progress this week before deciding if he'll be included in the trip to Glasgow.

Glasgow Warriors gave a better acccount of themselves in Ravenhill than perhaps the 28-14 final scoreline suggests with their coach Sean Lineen more than pleased with his young charge's performance.

“Not many gave us a chance (in Ravenhill). But deep down the boys had a lot of belief. The way we've played,  the way we've trained, a lot of youngsters. But ultimately an area that's usually a strength, our lineout, didn't function. To lose siix was disappointing. The boys are better than that. So we didn't really have that platform.”

“We went in 11-15 down at half-time. The boys working hard. Some of the defence was outstanding. In the second half we got to 15-14 and we were there.”

“And then just, a lit bit of composure ? And their senior guys came to the fore. And they played in the right areas. Then we gave away another silly intercept. So just a few little mistakes but looking at the bigger picture there were some really good performances.”  

Munster: J Murphy, D Howlett, D Hurley, S Zebo, T Gleeson, L Mafi, D Barnes, S Deasy, I Keatley, D Williams, P Stringer, M Horan, W du Preez, D Varley, M Sherry, D Fogarty, S Archer, J Hayes, BJ Botha, D Foley, M O'Driscoll, B Holland, P O'Mahony, T O'Donnell, N Ronan, J Coughlan. 

(Not considered because of injury: Darragh Hurley (achillies), Troy Smith (knee), David Wallace (knee), Felix Jones (foot), Pete Borlase (hip), Ian Nagle (shoulder), T O'Leary (back) ).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

There are five Munster representatives on the list of URC award winners for the 2023/24 season with Jack Crowley, Graham Rowntree, Shane Daly, Tadhg Beirne...