DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Wasps Win In Musgrave Park

19th August 2011 By Munster Rugby

Wasps Win In Musgrave Park

London Wasps were full value for their win over Munster in Musgrave Park scoring two tries in their 15-0 victory.


They led 3-0 at the break thanks to Ryan Davis 14th minute penalty. Tom Varndell scored their opening try in the 62nd minute that replacement Nick Robinson converted and in injury time they added a second try from a drive off a five metre line-out with Matt Everard credited with the touchdown.

The first half was evenly contested and Munster's policy of opting not to kick at goal saw them trail at the break. However, of more concern to them was the sight of BJ Botha limping off in the 28th minute with what appears to be a calf injury.

London Wasps were clearly the dominant side in the second period and restricted Munster to their own half for the third quarter. That dominance paid off in the 62nd minute when Varndell crossed on the right, Robinson adding the extras and right at the death, when they were awarded a penalty on the Munster 22, Wasps went for the lineout and rucked their way over.


Munster:  S Deasy (JJ Hanrahan 76th min); D Howlett, D Barnes (D Hurley 52nd min), L Mafi ( T Gleeson 52nd min), S Zebo, D Cusack (S Scanlon 52nd min), P Stringer (D Williams ht); W du Preez (M Horan 52nd min), M Sherry (D Fogarty 45th min), BJ Botha (S Archer 28th min); B Holland (D Foley 45th min), I Nagle; D O'Callaghan (T O'Donnell 52nd min), P O'Mahony, P Butler (J Coughlan 52nd min)(P Butler 60th min).. 

London Wasps: Alex Cheesman, Jack Wallace, Richard Haughton, Tom Varndell, Chris Mayor, Chris Bell, Christian Wade, Nick Robinson, Ryan Davis, Jonah Holmes, Nic Berry, Charlie Davies. Forwards: Jeremy Castex, Simon McIntyre, Bob Baker, Guillermo Roan, Ben Broster, Nathan Morris, Tom Lindsay, James Cannon, Marco Wentzel, Richard Birkett, Sam Jones, John Hart (captain), Billy Vunipola.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News