DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

McGahan Voted Coach Of The Year

9th May 2011 By Munster Rugby

McGahan Voted Coach Of The Year

Last night Tony McGahan was presented with the Magners League Coach of the Year Award for 2010/2011 by his Munster predecessor Declan Kidney at a function in Carton House in County Kildare.

The accolade, decided by the Magners League coaches, recognised his achievement in taking Munster to the top of the League table with 19 wins from 22 outings, a clear 13 points ahead of second placed Leinster with title holders Ospreys back in 4th place.

But despite finishing a massive 20 points behind Munster, Ospreys can still retain the title they won last year in the RDS win over Leinster, if they were to beat Munster on Saturday in Thomond Park Stadium and then go on to a likely repeat of last years final – Leinster are at home to Ulster in the other semi.

McGahan paid tribute to his coaching staff, Laurie Fisher, Anthony Foley, Jason Holland & Paul McCarthy, for their role in, “helping me achieve success”, while also giving credit to the medical and fitness staff for their player managment that saw 52 players contribute throughout the course of the season.

The other Award winners were Ronan O'Gara (Golden Boot) and Alan Quinlan (Chairman's Award) while Lifeimi Mafi was one of four nominees for try of the year  that was ultimately won by Ashley Beck.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Nine players will join the Munster Rugby senior squad this summer with four new additions and five players stepping up from the Academy. Thaakir Abrahams,...