DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Ireland Squads Named

19th January 2011 By Munster Rugby

Ireland Squads Named

Ireland Coach Declan Kidney has announced a 32 man squad for the forthcoming RBS 6 Nations Championship which begins for Ireland when they take on Italy in Stadio Flaminio in just over two weeks time.

An O2 Ireland Wolfhounds panel was also named today and that squad will be supplemented by further players following the weekend provincial games.

The team to play Scotland A in Netherdale on Friday (January 28th) will be selected from this group next Wednesday (January 26th).

Ireland Coach Declan Kidney said, “As always the selection of the squad is never an easy one but certainly the level of competition in each position is probably as great as it has ever been over the last two years. Players have been really pushing their performances for their provinces, so that level of competition can only be good. That translates into more competition for each place in the squad and then for the first selection against Italy, which can only be a good thing coming into the championship.”

Commenting on the O2 Ireland Wolfhounds panel announced, Declan Kidney said, “In terms of player game time ahead of the Championship and Rugby World Cup squad development, the two Wolfhound games are of enormous importance to us. The players named today in the Wolfhounds squad are very much in contention for the game against Italy. We have left a vacancy in the squad that we will fill after the provinces play this weekend and weigh up who we want to have game time and who we want to retain with the senior squad in Limerick”.

Ireland Squad, RBS 6 Nations Championship

Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
Gordon D'Arcy (Landowne – Leinster)
Gavin Duffy (Galwegians – Connacht)
Keith Earls (Thomond – Munster)
Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock – Leinster)
Shane Horgan (Boyne – Leinster)
Ronan O' Gara (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Brian O'Driscoll (UCD – Leinster)
Eoin Reddan (Landowne – Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College – Leinster)
Peter Stringer (Shannon – Munster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena – Ulster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena – Ulster)

Rory Best (Banbridge – Ulster)
Tom Court (Malone – Ulster)
Sean Cronin (Buccaneers – Connacht)
Leo Cullen (Blackrock – Leinster)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon – Ulster)
Jerry Flannery (Shannon – Munster)
John Hayes (Bruff – Munster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf – Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Naas – Leinster)
Shane Jennings (St. Mary's College – Leinster)
Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers – Connacht)
Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Paul O'Connell (Young Munster – Munster)
Sean O'Brien (Clontarf – Leinster)
Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Michael Ross (Clontarf – Leinster)
Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary's College – Leinster)
David Wallace (Garryowen – Munster)

O2 Ireland Wolfhounds

Isaac Boss (Terenure College – Leinster)
Ian Humphreys (Ballymena – Ulster)
Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Keith Matthews (Buccaneers – Connacht)
Fergus McFadden(Old Belvedere – Leinster)
Johne Murphy (Young Munster – Munster)
Niall O'Connor (Belfast Harlequins – Ulster)
Tomas O'Leary (Dolphin – Munster)
Eoin O'Malley (Old Belvedere – Leinster)
A.N. Other

Nigel Brady (Dungannon – Ulster)
Tony Buckley (Shannon – Munster)
Willie Faloon (Ballynahinch – Ulster)
Jamie Hagan (Galway Corinthians – Connacht)
Chris Henry (Ballymena – Ulster)
Kevin McLaughlin (St. Mary's College – Leinster)
Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon – Munster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Dan Tuohy (Ballymena – Ulster)
Damien Varley (Garryowen – Munster)
Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians – Connacht)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby can confirm five new additions to the Greencore Academy ahead of the 2023/24 season. The new Academy recruits are Dylan Hicks, Shay McCarthy,...