DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Snatch Dramatic Win

14th January 2011 By Munster Rugby

Munster Snatch Dramatic Win

Four second half penalties from Scott Deasy and then a massive rearguard action gave Munster a 15-14 victory over Nottingham at Meadow Lane tonight.

Munster trailed 8-3 at the end of a first half in which they had two players, Tommy O'Donnell and captain Billy Holland yellow carded.

Two Deasy penalties in the third quarter edged Munster in front before James Arlidge restored his side's advantage but Deasy booted Munster ahead and in the closing minutes the visitors had to withstand phase after phase of Nottingham pressure before emerging worthy winners. 

Munster: Denis Hurley; Danny Barnes, Tom Gleeson, Ivan Dineen, Barry Murphy; Scott Deasy, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Sean Henry, Stephen Archer; Ian Nagle, Dave Foley; Billy Holland (c), Tommy O'Donnell, Paddy Butler. Replacements: Duncan Casey, Peter Borlase, Dave O'Callaghan, Kieran Essex, Duncan Williams, Declan Cusack, Simon Zebo.

Nottingham: D Jackson; A Savage, A Forsyth, J Sifa, T Streather; T Usasz, J Arlidge; J Harris, J Stephens, M Halsall; I Kench, A Williams; C Hammond, L Sherriff, S Kalamafoni. Replacements: B Buxton, T Youngs, A Shaw, P Eggleshaw, F Barnham, Hamilton, D Marshall.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster team has been named for our URC semi-final against Glasgow Warriors at Thomond Park on Saturday (6pm). Over 18,500 tickets have already been...