DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Leamy Joins Ireland Squad

19th October 2010 By Munster Rugby

Leamy Joins Ireland Squad

Denis Leamy who missed out on the Ireland summer tour due to injury is named in today’s 34 man squad for the 2010 Guinness Series.

Denis Leamy who missed out on the Ireland summer tour due to injury is named in today’s 34 man squad for the 2010 Guinness Series.

The Tipperary man is joined by Keith Earls and Donnacha Ryan who were also absent from the summer tour due to injuries.

Johne Murphy who joined the squad as a late replacement during the summer is one of two uncapped players named in Kidney's squad today.

Omitted from the squad are Paul O'Connell and Tomas O'Leary as they recover from ongoing injuries.  The Ireland management will wait on news of Jerry Flannery after he picked up a calf injury in his return to Munster action in the Heineken Cup at the weekend.

Ireland will play South Africa, Samoa, New Zealand and Argentina on consecutive weekends in November and commenting on the upcoming series Declan Kidney said “It is going to be a demanding month for the squad and the first time we have played four games in the Guinness series. We felt it was important to have at least 30 fit players to choose from in terms of setting the foundations for November and it was better for those who picked up knocks to be assessed back in the provinces and when they have the all clear, to come back into the squad. Jerry (Flannery) and Luke (Fitzgerald) are in that position, as are fellas like Tomas (O’Leary) and Leo (Cullen) who may well come back into the mix depending on their recoveries and game time that they may need to build up over the next couple of weeks.”

“We need everybody in a position to be able to contribute in training and while we may well leave a window for those coming back, all the players in the squad are deserving of their chance. There are a lot of players who are unlucky not to make this squad, but the door will remain open to them also during November to join up with the panel.”

Ireland Squad (34):
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)
Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster)
Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)
Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
Shane Horgan (Boyne/Leinster)
John Hayes (Bruff/Munster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)
Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster)
Robert Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)
John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)
Johne Murphy (Young Munster/Munster)*
Donncha O' Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Ronan O' Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Sean O'Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)
Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
Jonathan Sexton (St.Mary's College/Leinster)
Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)*
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster)
David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)
*Denotes uncapped player.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Hooker Diarmuid Barron is one of five Greencore Munster Rugby Academy players who have stepped up to a senior contract with Munster following the completion...