DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Barnes Breaks Into Irish U20s

12th June 2009 By Munster Rugby

Barnes Breaks Into Irish U20s

Tralee man Danny Barnes is named in the starting XV to take on Uruguay in Ireland’s final pool game of the IRB Junior World Championships in Japan this Saturday.

Danny made the trip out to Japan during the week as he was called in to replace centre Nevin Spence who picked up a wrist injury in the New Zealand game. 

Ireland U20 coach Allen Clarke has made several changes to the team with only three players remaining in the first XV from the side who were defeated 17-0 by New Zealand on Tuesday.

Danny Barnes who makes the jump from sub academy to academy this summer has impressed all year with UCC and the Munster U20’s.  He also featured in the Munster A win over Leinster A in Waterpark in February.

Fellow academy players Andrew Burke and Conor Murray move into the starting XV, and in completing the Garryowen presence, Ronan O’Mahony is named in the side for the first time.  Cork Con’s Number eight Peter O’Mahony resumes his captaincy role after receiving a one match suspension.  Sub academy player and number seven Brian O’Hara is Munster’s only player to start in all three pool games.  UCC’s Dave O’Callaghan moves into the starting line-up after featuring as a replacement against Argentina and New Zealand.

This is the first game that sees all of the travelling Munster contingent feature in the Ireland U20 side.  Ireland take on Uruguay in Mizuho Rugby Ground, Nagoya on Saturday the 13th at 1pm (5am Irish time).

The Ireland U20 Team v Uruguay U20
15- David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
14- Jonny Shiels (QUB/Ulster)
13-Danny Barnes (UCC/Munster)
12-Shane Gahan (Lansdowne/ Leinster)
11-Ronan O’Mahony (Garryowen/Munster)
10-Andrew Burke (Garryowen/Munster)
9-Conor Murray (Garryowen Munster)
1 – Paddy McAllister (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
2-David McGregor (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
3-Jack O’Connell (Lansdowne/ Leinster)
4-Joe Moran (Galwegians/Connacht)
5-David O’Callaghan (UCC/Munster)
6-Rhys Ruddock (Millfield School/Exiles)
7-Brian O’Hara (U.L. Bohemians/Munster)
8-Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) Captain

16- Thomas Sexton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
17 -Jack McGrath (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
18 -Mark Flanagan (UCD/Leinster)
19 -Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
20- Matthew Healy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
21 – Ian McKinley (UCD/Leinster)
22 – Michael Keating (Clontarf/Leinster)




DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are pleased to announce the signing of 30-year-old centre Tom Farrell ahead of the 2024/25 season on a two-year deal. Farrell will join...