DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

2009 Munster Rugby Awards

25th April 2009 By Munster Rugby

2009 Munster Rugby Awards

David Wallace is named Munster Rugby Player of the Year at the 2009 Munster Rugby Awards in Thomond Park tonight.

This year’s awards took place in Limerick for the first time and Thomond Park provided the perfect setting to host the star studded event.

Eleven awards in total were presented on the night recognising and honouring those involved in the different aspects of rugby across the province.

David Wallace fought off competiton from fellow nominees Paul O’Connell, John Hayes and Niall Ronan, and now joins previous winners Ronan O’Gara and John Hayes in receiving the player of the year accolade.

Award Recipients:

Munster Player of the Year: David Wallace

Young Player of the Year: Keith Earls

Academy Player of the Year: Tommy O’Donnell

Hall of Fame Award: Michael English

Senior Club of the Year: UL Bohemian RFC

Junior Club of the Year: Cashel RFC

Club Youth Section of the Year: Highfield RFC

Club Mini Section of the Year: Waterford City RFC

Women’s Player of the Year: Niamh Briggs

Referee of the Year: John Lacey

School of the Year: Christian Brothers College



DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

At this evening's Rugby Players Ireland awards, Keith Earls was named as the Zurich Contribution to Irish Society Award winner and Craig Casey's try against...