DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

All Blacks Name Team to Face Munster

16th November 2008 By Munster Rugby

All Blacks Name Team to Face Munster

All Blacks halfback Piri Weepu will captain the All Blacks for the first time, while two other players will make their run-on debuts, when New Zealand line out against Munster at Thomond Park Stadium on Tuesday November 18th.

The team is:
1.    Jamie Mackintosh
2.    Corey Flynn
3.    Ben Franks
4.    Ross Filipo
5.    Jason Eaton
6.    Adam Thomson
7.    Scott Waldrom
8.    Liam Messam
9.    Piri Weepu – Captain
10.  Stephen Donald
11.  Josevata Rokocoko
12.  Isaia Toeava
13.  Anthony Tuitavake
14.  Hosea Gear
15.  Cory Jane
16.  Hikawera Elliott
17.  John Afoa
18.  Brad Thorn
19.  Kieran Read
20.  Alby Mathewson
21.  Richard Kahui
22.  Mils Muliaina
Tasman prop Ben Franks and Taranaki loose forward Scott Waldrom have been named in the starting XV and will become All Blacks numbers 1084 and 1085 respectively.  Two other new All Blacks squad members, Hawke’s Bay hooker Hikawera Elliott and Wellington halfback Alby Mathewson, have been named on the bench and will also make their All Blacks debuts if they are called into action.
25-year-old Weepu, who this year captained his Wellington team in New Zealand’s domestic rugby competition, the Air New Zealand Cup, will captain the All Blacks in his 29th match in the black jersey.
“The Munster match will be a special occasion for the team and the guys are really looking forward to visiting Limerick.  The team also knows that it will be a hard, physical match against the European club champions,” All Blacks Coach Graham Henry said.
“The All Blacks are also delighted to be heading back to Thomond Park for the official opening of the renovated stadium.  It’s a special part of rugby history,” Henry added.
The All Blacks arrive in Limerick this afternoon (Sunday afternoon) with several players visiting Thomond Park Stadium to open the new Munster Rugby Store and Interactive Museum at 6pm.



DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

See highlights and the best pics from our bonus-point URC win over the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday. Shane Daly, RG Snyman, John Hodnett...