DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Bonus Point Win For Munster

14th September 2008 By Munster Rugby

Bonus Point Win For Munster

Seven tries, three from the Toyota Man of the Match, Keith Earls and two apiece from Doug Howlett and Paul Warwick gave Munster a 50-6 victory over Newport Gwent Dragons in front of a 6940 crowd at Musgrave Park.

And some of those scores were simply breathtaking starting with Earls’ second in the 24th minute when his show  ‘n go gave him the space down the left touchline that he follwed up with a delicate chip and then an audacious foot flick at speed that sent the greasy ball up into his hands before crossing the line.

Late in the second half Warwick scored his second and this time it was John O’Sullivan who was the creator with a marvellous break from deep inside his own half and then a run that took him to the Dragons 22, a delightful side step en route, before offloading to the supporting outside half.

Munster went behind to a James Alridge penalty after just three minutes but went in front when Ian Dowling’s slightly forward pass to Earls was overlooked.

There was no doubting the legitimacy of Warwicks first in the 2oth minute however. He started the move with a Ronan O’Gara type crossfield kick that Dowling gathered just outside his own 22. The Kilkenny cat made good headway before finding Barry Murphy and Earls, Lifeimi Mafi and skipper Mick O’Driscoll all handled before Warwick crashed over under the posts.

Then we had the Earls effort four minutes later that took Munster into the break leading 19-3 and after Alridge scored a second penalty at the start of the second half, Earls completed his hattrick in the 56th minute.

By this stage it was simply the margin of victory that was in any doubt and Warwick second and a brace from Doug Howlett sent the large crowd home in the best of spirits.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

There are five Munster representatives on the list of URC award winners for the 2023/24 season with Jack Crowley, Graham Rowntree, Shane Daly, Tadhg Beirne...