DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Crash Out Of Heineken Cup In Stradey Park

29th March 2007 By Munster Rugby

Munster Crash Out Of Heineken Cup In Stradey Park

Munster’s reign as Heineken Cup champions came to an end in Stradey Park when they were beaten 24-15 by a fired up Llanelli Scarlets

The Scarlets scored an early try through Dafydd James and added to that with a long range Barry Davies penalty for a 10-0 lead that didn’t seem too bad as the game drifted towards the break. But then in injury time Gavin Thomas squeezed over in the corner and Stephen Jones landed the conversion for a 17 point lead.

Munster got it back to 17-8 before Davies crossed for his side’s third try that effectively ended Munster hopes although they kept going to the end and had a late try from replacement Donnacha Ryan

Munster: Christian Cullen; John Kelly, Lifeimi Mafi, Trevor Halstead, Ian Dowling; Ronan O’Gara (capt), Peter
Stringer; Marcus Horan, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes; Donncha O’Callaghan, Mick O’Driscoll; Alan Quinlan, David Wallace, Denis Leamy.

 Llanelli Scarlets: Barry Davies; Dafydd James, 13 Regan King, 12 Gavin Evans, 11 Mark Jones, 10 Stephen Jones, 9 Dwayne Peel, Iestyn Thomas, Matthew Rees, Deacon Manu;  Vernon Cooper,  Scott MacLeod; Simon Easterby (capt), Gavin Thomas, Alix Popham.

Referee: Chris White (England)
Touch judges: Tony Spreadbury (England), Peter Huckle (England)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster came from behind to carve out a bonus point win at Loftus Versfeld in this BKT United Rugby Championship encounter. Munster led 17-10 at...