DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster On Song

28th October 2006 By Munster Rugby

Munster On Song

A six try, 41-23 victory over Bourgoin in front of a 12,800 strong Thomond Park crowd earned Munster a bonus point victory on Saturday.

Tries from Frank Sheahan, Barry Murphy, Donncha O’Callaghan, John Kelly and replacement Andy Kriacou helped Munster to a 41-23 victory over Bourgoin on Saturday. They scored three tries in the opening half at the end of which they led 20-6, and completed the job after Bourgoin scored a breakaway try at the start of the second half.

Benjamin Boyet gave the visitors the lead with a 5th minute penalty before Frank Sheahan crashed his way over from a well rehearsedline-out move. Ronan O’Gara missed the touchline conversion and Boyet restored Bourgoin’s lead with a second penalty in the 10th minute.

Munster cranked it up in the second quartter and young tyros Ian Dowling and Barry Murphy raced in to score tries, with O’Gara adding the extras to Murphys under the sticks score.

A promising Munster move broke down in the 22 andBourgoin broke clear for a length of the pitch try from Sebastien Laloo with Boyet converting to leave just one score separating the sides.

However, Munster composed themselves and Donncha O’Callaghan detached himself from a rolling maul to score to the right of the posts. O’Gara converted and added the points to Kelly’s try and to Kyriacou’s – a 70th minute replaceement for Sheahan – 76th minute effort.

Bourgoin had the final say with a Florin Denos try and conversion from the touchline from Boyet.

Munster: Shaun Payne; John Kelly, Barry Murphy Trevor Halstead (Lifiemi Mafi), Ian Dowling; Ronan O’Gara (Jeremy Manning), Peter Stringer (Toams O’Leary); Marcus Horan, Frank Sheahan (Andy Kyriacou), John Hayes; Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell capt (John O’Sullivan); Alan Quinlan (Mick O’Driscoll), David Wallace, Denis Leamy.

Bourgoin: S bastien Laloo; David Janin, Gillaume Bousses, Sal si Finau, Rudolph Cotzee;
Benjamin Boyet, Micka l Prendergast; Olivier Milloud, Beno t Cabello, Olivier Sourgens; Carlo Del Fava, Bryce Williams; Augusto Petrilli, Mark Rennie, Julien Bonnaire Capitain.

Replacements: Jean-Philippe Genevois, Pablo Cardinali, Pascal Peyron, Wessel Jooste, Micka l Campeggia, Florian Denos, Julien Frier


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby can confirm that Antoine Frisch will depart for Toulon in the summer after two years at the province. Antoine has been a fantastic...