DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster U18’s to face Leinster in Interprovincial Final

23rd January 2006 By Munster Rugby

Munster U18’s to face Leinster in Interprovincial Final

Munster U18’s will face Leinster at Mullingar RFC on Saturday next after defeating Connacht 11-6 on Saturday last.

Munster U18 s To Face Leinster in Interprovincial Final

Munster v Leinster

Saturday 28th January 2006

Mullingar RFC

Kick Off tbc

Munster U18 s will meet Leinster in the final of the IRFU U18 Interprovincial Championship on Saturday at Mullingar RFC having defeated Connacht 11-6 in the semi final at Crescent College Comprehensive on Saturday. Leinster booked their place in the final after a 33-14 victory over Ulster. With the title last won in the 2003/4 season, Munster will be hoping to reverse the result of their last meeting with Leinster in October in the round robin series of the competition, with Leinster winning 19-0 on that occasion, and reclaim the Interprovincial title.

On a day when Munster displayed winning form all round, Munster U18 s got the better start against Connacht, with the Munster forwards particularly impressing. The first score of the game didn t come until twenty two minutes into the match when Sunday s Well prop Michael Moynihan went over for the try. With the try remaining unconverted, full back Geoff Ryan form Garryowen added to Munster s tally with a well taken penalty just four minutes later. Connacht regrouped and made some headway towards the end of the half, getting three points back from a penalty and exerting continuous pressure on Munster.

After the break, Connacht claimed another three points from another penalty to reduce the deficit. Despite a solid period of pressure from Connacht in the opening period of the second half, a penalty by Geoff Ryan after 50 minutes stretched Munster s lead, and completed the scoring for the afternoon. Working particularly well on the day was the Munster pack, with Noel Kinane at No. 8 and Dave Foley at second row particularly impressing.

Sponsored by Avonmore Supermilk, the Munster U18 squad is coached by Tom Mulcahy (Head Coach), forwards coach Eddie Montgomery, backs coach Pat Collins and Manager Nick O Keeffe, ably assisted by Regional Development Officer Mark Hickey. Pat Coman, Dermot Kelly, Tom Nyhan, Nick O Keeffe and Billy O Rourke make up the selection team.


Back L/R: Tom Nyhan (Mallow) Selector, Mark Hickey RDO, Eddie Montgomery (Young Munster) Forwards Coach, Pat Coman (Thurles) Selector, Nick O Keefe (Cobh) Chairman of Selectors & Manager, Wayne O Mahoney (Thurles), Gareth Hogan (Youghal), Eamon Boland (Youghal), Dave Foley (Clonmel), Alan O Connell (Old Christians) Fiachra Wynn (Ennis), Alan Dinan (Cork Constitution), Keith Quigley (Nenagh Ormond), Pat O Regan (Tralee), Noel Kinane (Thurles), Sean Nixon (Newcastle West), Conor Brislane (Nenagh Ormond), Kevin Lynch (Ballincollig), Conor Whelan (Nenagh Ormond), Tom Mulcahy (Head Coach), Dermot Kelly (St Senan s) Selector, Billy O Rourke (Abbeyfeale) Selector.

Front L/R: Clare Wills, Sports Therapist, Pat Collins (Lismore) Backs Coach, Daniel Lyons (Clonmel), Diarmuid McMahon (St. Senan s), Geoff Ryan (Thomond), Paul Cullity (Castleisland), Adam Doyle (Sunday s Well), Dale Harris (Waterpark), Paddy O Sullivan (Killarney), Mick Moynihan (Sunday s Well), William Divane (Dingle), Aidan Tobin (Old Christians), Julie Codey, Sports Therapist. Photo: T Nyhan


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Head Coach Andy Farrell has today named a 35-player Ireland Men’s squad for the upcoming Summer Tour to South Africa, captained by Peter O’Mahony who...