DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Squad For Cardiff

1st November 2005 By Munster Rugby

Munster Squad For Cardiff

Munster coach Declan Kidney was named a 27 strong Munster squad, from which the side will be selected, for their Celtic League clash with Cardiff Blues at The Arms Park on Friday. (7.30pm).

Having to wait until today to know what players would be available from the national squad, and given the short (six-day) turn-around from the last game, Munster coach Declan Kidney has opted to name a 27 strong squad, from which the side will be selected, for the game against the Cardiff Blues at The Arms Park on Friday evening.

Kidney is not expected to finalise his starting line-up until after the Captain’s Run on Friday morning.

With the autumn internationals just around the corner, eight of those involved in Munster’s win over Castres Olympique last weekend are unavailable for selection.There is a return to the squad for John O’Sullivan, missing through injury since being forced to withdraw from the side with a strained calf muscle injury just before the Ospreys game (Sept 10th).

Mossie Lawlor and Tony Buckley are also included. Lawlor, easing his way back from shoulder surgery, via the AIL, has not been involved in a Munster squad since the pre-season friendlies while Buckley came on as a replacement for Federico Pucciariello in the game against Glasgow Warriors (Sept 17th).

Paul Burke returns having missed both Heineken Cup games while Eugene McGovern and Shane O’Connor make the squad for the first time this season.

In the absence of Anthony Foley, twenty three year old Stephen Keogh is likely to be given the captain’s arm-band when the side is finalised.


Shaun Payne, John Kelly, Ian Dowling, Mossie Lawlor, Gary Connolly, Trevor Halstead, Anthon Pitout, Barry Murphy, Jeremy Manning, Paul Burke, Frank Murphy, Mike Prendergast, Tomas O’Leary,

Frank Roche, Tony Buckley, Eugene McGovern, Federico Pucciariello, Jerry Flannery, Denis Fogarty, Trevor Hogan, Mick O’Driscoll, Shane O’Connor, John O’Connor, John O’Sullivan, Stephen Keogh, Frank Cogan, David Wallace.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby can confirm that Antoine Frisch will depart for Toulon in the summer after two years at the province. Antoine has been a fantastic...