DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Supporters Club

13th October 2005 By Munster Rugby

Munster Supporters Club

The Munster Rugby Supporters Club presented trophies to the Player Of The Year and the Young Player Of The Year for last season

Munster Rugby Supporters Club

Player of the Year Presentation

The Munster Rugby Supporters Club, were delighted to get the opportunity last Sunday, at half time during the Munster v Leinster game in Musgrave Park to present trophies to the Player Of The Year and the Young Player Of The Year for the 2004/2005 season.

The Young player of the Year, as overwhelmingly voted by the 4,000 members of the Supporters Club, is Denis Leamy. In addition to his significant efforts for Munster last year, Denis also made the breakthrough to the National team. Presenting the award on behalf of the Supporters Club was Elaine Blackshields. The Munster Branch President Ken Lyons accepted it on behalf of Denis.

The Munster Rugby Supporters Club Player of the Year for last season, as voted by the Members, is Munster Lion, Paul O Connell. Paul s phenomenal performances last year, for Munster, Ireland and the Lions, will not be forgotten by any Supporters. Not only did Paul captain his country, but also had the honour of being the Lions Captain. Supporters Club member Dan Kiely is seen here presenting Paul with the Player of the Year award.

The Award s, were specially commissioned pieces, designed and manufactured by Kingsriver Community group, based in Stonyford, Kilkenny. Both pieces are hand crafted from natural Irish Walnut and Oak. This community brings together the skills of top class joiners, carpenters and people with special needs in making fitted kitchens, furniture and craft items. Representing Kingsriver in the photographs is Jet Phelan.

Issued by

Munster Rugby Supporters Club Committee

Glenn Flanagan PRO


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

See highlights and the best pics from our bonus-point URC win over the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday. Shane Daly, RG Snyman, John Hodnett...