DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Keogh To Lead Munster

18th August 2005 By Munster Rugby

Keogh To Lead Munster

Stephen Keogh leads a Munster side that includes new caps Tony Buckley, John O’Sullivan and Ben Martin against a star-studded Northampton Saints in Thomond Park this evening (6.30pm).

Twenty three year old Stephen Keogh captains the Munster side that takes on Northampton Saints in Thomond Park on Friday evening (6.30pm).

Keogh played in the second-row for Ireland U21s in the World Cup in Johannesburg in June 2002 and the following season, playing number 8, Keogh led the U21s to Six Nations Championship victories over Scotland, Italy, France and England. His side’s only defeat that year came against eventual champions wales, the Irish going down by the narrowest of margins 920-19) in Ebbw Vale. Also included in the Munster squad for Friday are his teammates from that campaign, Eugene McGovern and Barry Murphy while Frank Murphy and Paul Devlin were part of that 2002 World Cup squad.

John O’Sullivan and Tony Buckley both plyed their trade with Connacht last season but full-back Ben Martin gets his first taste of the professional game in this country having helped UL Bohemians to promotion and victory in the AIL play off final at Lansdowne Road last year.

Martin (23) played with John Langford at Sydney University and also with ACT Brumbies.

For their part Northampton Saints could have hardly have selected a stronger side than the one that will be led onto Thomond Park by captain Bruce Reihana.

The former All Black will be followed by fellow Kiwis, scrum-half Mark Robinson, number 8 Dan Browne recently joined from French side Grenoble and one of the most famous names in world rugby, Carlos Spencer.

In addition included in the saints starting line-up are Lions Ben Cohen and Tom Smith, Scottish international Sean Lamont and Irish pair, former Leinster centre David Quinlan and lock Damien Browne.

Munster: Ben Martin; Paul Devlin, Rob Henderson, Mike Mullins, Mossie Lawlor;
Paul Burke, Mike Prendergast; Frank Roche, Jerry Flannery, Tony Buckley; Donnacha Ryan,
Mick O’Driscoll; John O’Sullivan, Johnny O’Connor, Stephen Keogh capt

Replacements (from): Eugene McGovern, Denis Fogarty, Rory McGrath, Frank Cogan, Anthony Foley, Frank Murphy, Ian Dowling, Barry Murphy.

Northampton Saints: Bruce Reihana capt; Sean Lamont, Jon Clarke, David Quinlan, Ben Cohen; Carlos Spencer, Mark Robinson; Tom Smith, Dylan Hartley, Brett Sturgess; Damien Browne, James Percival, Mark Easter, Darren Fox, Dan Browne.

Replacements (from): Dan Richmond, Chris Budgen, Matt Lord, Mark Soden, Ben Jones,
Seamus Mallon, John Rudd, Rhodri Davies, Andy Vilk, Alec Rae.

Referee – Alan Lewis.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster squad are continuing preparations at the HPC ahead of Saturday’s URC Round 18 clash against Ulster at Thomond Park. Kick-off is at 5.15pm...