DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Youths Cup Action

22nd April 2005 By Munster Rugby

Youths Cup Action

Clonakilty completed the U18 League and Cup double, while Cork Constitution took the U14 title


Clonakilty 14 Cork Constitution 0

Clonakilty were celebrating on Thursday night on completing the League and Cup double after holding off Cork Constitution in a tough match at Musgrave Park.

It was Cork Constitution who had the better start, really testing the Clonakilty defence in the opening 20 minutes with some excellent phases of play. Despite having much of the possession and scrum half Dermot Collins coming very close to the line, they failed to notch up points. Close to the end of a dynamic first half, it was Clonakilty who took their chances and put the vital scores on the board. Out half Ciaran Calnan was key to their attack, and his drop goal after half an hour of play gave them the edge. Clonakilty stretched the lead just before half time after some superb work by the Clonakilty forwards gave winger Killian O Donovan his opportunity to go over the line. He touched down to give Clonakilty an 8-0 lead at the break. Calnan was superb throughout, keeping Cork Constitution on the back foot and showing maturity beyond his years. It was difficult for Cork Constitution to come back, however they defended well in the face of a determined Clonakilty side. Calnan added to the tally with a penalty 14 minutes into the second half, and completed the scoring with a drop goal after 24 minutes to seal the victory. For Cork Constitution, it wasn t to be their night, despite some excellent performances from Alan Dinan and Ross Broekstein, and the ever-vigilant Dermot Collins.


Cork Constitution 5 Ballincollig 5

In a tense and thrilling game at Musgrave Park, it was Cork Constitution who were named U14 champions after the teams remained level after extra time. Cork Constitution scored the first try and this was enough to take the title.

Cork Constitution opened the scoring with a superb try from David Clarke off the back of a scrum. Clarke had a tremendous game, and caused untold problems for Ballincollig, particularly in attack. Ballincollig were slow to get into the game, but managed to hold out continued attacks from the Cork Constitution back line, with Michael Wong and Michael O Sullivan looking particularly dangerous. Some handling errors from Constitution denied them more scoring chances, but their pack were tremendous- turning over possession on numerous occasions at the breakdown. After the restart, Ballincollig emerged a livelier and more focused side. Out half Tim Coveney spearheaded the attack, putting Ballincollig into some excellent scoring positions. In the pack, James Cronin stood out, along with John Barry, who really upped their game in the second half. Captain Luke Horgan in the centre continued to look for gaps. Constitution conceded a series of penalties, bringing Ballincollig within range. They chose to run the ball, and Cian O Callaghan crossed the line after excellent pressure. With both teams scoring a try apiece, two five-minute periods of extra time were played, with neither side able to break the deadlock. Both teams put on a fine display, which was acknowledged by the appreciative crowd.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

There are five Munster representatives on the list of URC award winners for the 2023/24 season with Jack Crowley, Graham Rowntree, Shane Daly, Tadhg Beirne...