DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Triumphant Over Bristol Shoguns!

13th August 2002 By Munster Rugby

Munster Triumphant Over Bristol Shoguns!

Munster start their 02/03 season with a magnificent win of 31 points to 10 over the Bristol Shoguns at Thomond Park with trys from Jeremy Staunton, Mick Galwey & Kevin O’Riardan.

Munster start their 02/03 season with a magnificent win of 31 points to 10 over the Bristol Shoguns at Thomond Park this evening.

About 3000 turned up to a wet Thomond Park to see Munster take on the touring Shoguns. A slow first half saw only one try in favor of Bristol with Lee Best sneaking his way into the corner. The first half ended 5 – 0 to the Shoguns.

The second half brought the introduction of Halvey, Malone & Fogarty and the start to a blistering performance by Munster. Within minutes Mick Galway made his way over the line, and the try was quickly converted by Staunton (7-5). It was then the turn of Bristol’s # 11 Brendon Daniel to put the Shogun’s back in the lead. (10-7)

Crotty’s exit from the game saw the introduction of Kevin O’Riardan who quickly made his presence felt with another Munster try to take the score to 12-10.

Staunton did not manage to convert this time but soon made up for it with two tries and two conversions within minutes of each other (score Munster 26 – Bristol 10). One would think that Munster would now be content with just letting the clock run down and holding Bristol at bay……but that would be just the easy thing to do!….with only five minutes to go Galliamh with a final burst of energy clambered his way over the line to take the game well out of Bristol’s sight!

Final Score Munster 31 – Bristol 10

Munster line-up:

Dominic Crotty; John Lacey, Tom Cregan, Jason Holland, Mossie Lawlor; Jeremy Staunton, Mike Prendergast; Padraig Brennan, James Blaney, Rob Laffen, Donnacha O’Callaghan, Mick Galwey; Peter Malone, Colm McMahon and Jim Williams (capt).

Munster Replacements

Kevin O’Riardan, Conor O’Mahony, Dominic Malone, James Callinane, John Fogarty, Frank Roche, Trevor Hogan, Brian Buckley, Eddie Halvey, David Bowles, Ultan O’Callaghan, Tony Buckley, Richie McKinney.

Bristol Shoguns line-up:

Lee Best, Phil Christophers, Tom Luke, Martin Shaw, Brendon Daniel, Shane Drahm, Paul Hodgson, Ross Beattie (c), Michael Lipman, Chris Morgan, Garath Archer, Andrew Sheridan, Emiliano Bergamaschi, Neil McCarthy, Darren Crompton.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster side has been named for Saturday’s URC Round 14 clash against Vodacom Bulls at Loftus Versfeld (4.05pm Irish time/5.05pm local, live on RTÉ)....