DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Report | Bonus-Point Win For Munster A Over Cardiff

September 21, 2019 10:58 am By The Editor

Jack Delaney scores Munster A

Jack Delaney scores Munster A's second try. Inpho

Munster A produced an impressive performance at a blustery Irish Independent Park on Friday night in a bonus-point 28-7 victory over Cardiff Blues A in the Celtic Cup.

Louis Bruce, Jack Delaney, Paddy Kelly and captain Craig Casey touched down in the win with Ben Healy landing all four conversions.

A brilliant Munster A start saw the hosts race into a 14-point lead in as many minutes with Peter Malone’s side playing some excellent attacking rugby.

The first try arrived on nine minutes as Bruce touched down in the left corner after a sustained period of pressure with Healy slotting the touchline conversion.

Luke Clohessy initiated the next Munster attack with a strong run with Harry O’Riordan and Rob Hedderman combining brilliantly to set up Delaney for Munster’s second try four minutes later.

Healy again converted for a commanding early lead.

Cardiff hit back immediately and Josh Male, with an overlap on his outside, sliced through the Munster defence to score with Rhys Davies converting.

Kelly was over for Munster’s third try just past the half hour after excellent work from the Munster pack in the maul with Healy again on target for a 21-7 half-time lead.

Scores were more scarce in the second half with Munster defending well. Casey struck the decisive blow on the 60-minute mark as Hedderman broke down the right wing and found the scrum-half in support. Casey chipped ahead and managed to reach the ball first for the bonus-point try.

Healy was on target once again off the tee to cap off a strong Munster A display.

Tries: Louis Bruce, Jack Delaney, Paddy Kelly, Craig Casey

Cons: Ben Healy (4)

Try: Josh Male

Con: Rhys Davies

Munster A: Jack Crowley; Rob Hedderman, Harry O’Riordan (Jamie Shanahan, 58), Jack Delaney, Louis Bruce; Ben Healy, Craig Casey (C) (Charlie O’Doherty, 67); Corrie Barrett (Luke Masters, 60), Scott Buckley (Diarmuid Barron, 45), James Kendrick (Dylan Murphy, 45); Cian Hurley (Daniel Okeke, 65), Paddy Kelly; David Hyland, John Hodnett (Bailey Faloon, 72), Luke Clohessy (Thomas Ahern, h-t).

Cardiff Blues A: Ioan Davies; Alex Varney, Dafydd Smith, Josh Male, Mason Grady; Rhys Davies, Ethan Lloyd; Theo Bevacqua, Ethan Lewis, Will Davies King; Ben Murphy, Macauley Cook (C); Tim Grey, Jim Botham, Alun Lawrence.

Replacements: Cameron Lewis, Rob Lewis, Ben Warren, Teddy Williams, Aled Ward, Zak Bartlett, Jacob Beetham, Dylan Williams.