DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team News | Munster Side To Face Glasgow Warriors

December 1, 2023 11:55 am By The Editor

Oli Jager is in line to make his Munster debut off the bench.

Oli Jager is in line to make his Munster debut off the bench. Inpho

The Munster team has been named for Friday’s sold-out URC clash against leaders Glasgow Warriors at Musgrave Park (7.35pm).

There are three changes to the side that faced Leinster last week with hooker Diarmuid Barron continuing as captain.

Alex Nankivell is included at inside centre, Seán O’Brien starts on the wing and Academy lock Edwin Edogbo comes into the second row. A positional switch for Shane Daly sees him move to full-back.

Oli Jager is included among the replacements and in line to make his Munster debut after recently joining the province from the Crusaders.

Daly, Calvin Nash and O’Brien start in the back three with Nankivell and Antoine Frisch in midfield as Craig Casey and Jack Crowley continue their half-back partnership.

The front row of Jeremy Loughman, Barron and Stephen Archer is unchanged with Edogbo joining Tadhg Beirne in the engine room.

Tom Ahern makes his second start in an unchanged back row that also includes John Hodnett and Gavin Coombes.

Scott Buckley, Dave Kilcoyne and Jager provide the front row back-up with Fineen Wycherley, Academy back row Brian Gleeson and Alex Kendellen completing the forward cover. Kendellen is set to make his 50th Munster appearance.

Conor Murray and Rory Scannell are the backline replacements.

On the injury front, Jean Kleyn, John Ryan and Simon Zebo were unavailable for selection due to knocks.

Munster: Shane Daly; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Seán O’Brien; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron (C), Stephen Archer; Edwin Edogbo, Tadhg Beirne; Tom Ahern, John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Dave Kilcoyne, Oli Jager, Fineen Wycherley, Brian Gleeson, Conor Murray, Rory Scannell, Alex Kendellen.

Press Pass

Hear from Alex Nankivell and Head Coach Graham Rowntree as they spoke to the media on Tuesday.


URC Round 7: Friday, December 1

Munster v Glasgow Warriors, Musgrave Park, 7.35pm; SOLD-OUT

Champions Cup Round 1: Saturday, December 9

Munster Rugby v Aviron Bayonnais, Thomond Park, 5.30pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 8: Tuesday, December 26

Munster v Leinster, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; Buy final tickets here

Champions Cup Round 4: Saturday, January 20

Munster Rugby v Northampton Saints, Thomond Park, 5.30pm; Buy tickets here

Saturday, February 3

Munster Rugby v Crusaders, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 5pm; Buy final tickets here

URC Round 11: Friday, March 1

Munster v Zebre Parma, Musgrave Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 13: Saturday, March 30

Munster v Cardiff Rugby, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 16: Saturday, May 11

Munster v Connacht, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 18: Saturday, June 1

Munster v Ulster, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | 6-Try Munster Beat URC Leaders Glasgow In Cork

December 1, 2023 11:08 pm By The Editor

Tom Ahern and Jack Crowley celebrate Diarmuid Barron

Tom Ahern and Jack Crowley celebrate Diarmuid Barron's try. Inpho

Munster ran in six tries to oust Glasgow Warriors in an entertaining BTK United Rugby Championship contest in front of a full house at Musgrave Park on Friday night.

Player of the Match Tom Ahern led the way with a brace of tries but table-toppers Glasgow Warriors produced five tries of their own, all coming from the maul.

Munster, bidding to bounce back from the loss to Leinster, got on top from the outset and ran in three excellent tries in the opening 16 minutes.

Edwin Edogbo took his haul to three this season when he drove over after three penalties to the left corner after seven minutes after Gavin Coombes was stopped just short of the line.

Jack Crowley converted for the perfect start and Munster pushed on from there when Glasgow were reduced to 14 when loosehead prop Nathan McBeth was issued with a yellow card.

Full-back Shane Daly chipped over the cover for 6’9” Ahern to catch and get over in the left corner.

Crowley was this time unable to add the extras but he converted after 16 minutes when Munster struck for their third try with another flowing movement with Sean O’Brien, Ahern and Casey all playing big roles before captain Diarmuid Barron got in for his tenth Munster try. Crowley’s convert pushed the lead out to 19-0.

Glasgow hit back and a penalty to the right corner from Duncan Weir provided a good platform with Sione Vailanu getting the touchdown from the lineout maul.

Munster finished the half strongly and secured the bonus point when Ahern was out wide again to score after good work from Antoine Frisch and Coombes to lead 26-5 at the break.

This season’s URC top scorer, Glasgow hooker Johnny Matthews, got in for his eighth try of the campaign two minutes after the restart but the Munster response was good.

Alex Nankivell got his first Munster try when he took a direct line to score while they had a penalty advantage. Crowley converted to make it 33-10 after 49 minutes, with the Scottish again temporarily reduced to 14 when tighthead Lucio Sordoni was sent to the sin bin.

New signing from Crusaders Oli Jager came on to make his Munster debut after 52 minutes before Glasgow hit back with a brace of tries, the first from Rory Darge and the second a penalty try which earned Tadhg Beirne a yellow card and reduced the margin to 33-22 with 18 minutes remaining.

Munster though did not panic and they killed off any notions of the comeback when John Hodnett tapped a penalty and drove over with Jager and Dave Kilcoyne on his shoulders after 66 minutes.

Glasgow Warriors got in for a fifth try in the closing minutes when replacement hooker Angus Fraser squeezed over to score.

Munster: Shane Daly; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Seán O’Brien; Jack Crowley (Rory Scannell, 70), Craig Casey (Conor Murray, 61); Jeremy Loughman (Dave Kilcoyne, 52), Diarmuid Barron (Scott Buckley, 44), Stephen Archer (Oli Jager, 52); Edwin Edogbo (Fineen Wycherley, 62), Tadhg Beirne; Tom Ahern (Alex Kendellen, 57), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups