DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team News | Munster Side To Face Leinster On Stephen’s Day

December 22, 2023 11:52 am By The Editor

Oli Jager makes his first start for Munster at Thomond Park on St Stephen

Oli Jager makes his first start for Munster at Thomond Park on St Stephen's Day. Inpho

The Munster team has been named for the sold-out URC Interpro derby against Leinster on St Stephen’s Day (7.35pm).

While the Leinster game is sold-out, there are still tickets available here for the Champions Cup clash against Northampton in January.

There are four personnel changes and one positional switch to the side that faced Exeter Chiefs last week with three Academy players in the 23-man squad.

Tighthead prop Oli Jager makes his first start for Munster on his third appearance for the province.

Dave Kilcoyne joins Jager in the front row on his first start of the campaign with Academy lock Edwin Edogbo returning from injury to take his place in the second row. It will be Edogbo’s seventh start of the campaign.

In the backline, Simon Zebo comes into the side at full-back for his second appearance of the season with Shane Daly moving to the left wing.

Calvin Nash keeps his place on the right wing with the centre and half-back partnerships unchanged.

Scrum-half Craig Casey and out-half Jack Crowley start together once again with Alex Nankivell and Antoine Frisch in midfield.

Hooker Diarmuid Barron captains the side and packs down with Kilcoyne and Jager in the front row.

Edogbo and Gavin Coombes partner up in the second row with Coombes set for his 10th appearance of the campaign having started all of Munster’s games so far this year.

The back row of Tom Ahern, John Hodnett and Jack O’Donoghue is unchanged.

Eoghan Clarke, Jeremy Loughman and Stephen Archer are the front row replacements with Academy back-row Brian Gleeson and Alex Kendellen completing the forward cover.

Paddy Patterson, Academy out-half Tony Butler and Seán O’Brien are the backline replacements.

In line with IRFU player management guidelines, Tadhg Beirne and Conor Murray were unavailable for selection having featured in all five games since returning from international duty.

The duo also played in all five matches of Ireland’s Rugby World Cup campaign in France.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Dave Kilcoyne, Diarmuid Barron (C), Oli Jager; Edwin Edogbo, Gavin Coombes; Tom Ahern, John Hodnett, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Eoghan Clarke, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Brian Gleeson, Alex Kendellen, Paddy Patterson, Tony Butler, Seán O’Brien.

Press Pass

Hear from Head Coach Graham Rowntree and Craig Casey ahead of the game.

Upcoming Home Games

URC Round 8: Tuesday, December 26

Munster v Leinster, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; SOLD OUT

Champions Cup Round 4: Saturday, January 20

Munster Rugby v Northampton Saints, Thomond Park, 5.30pm; Buy tickets here

Saturday, February 3

Munster Rugby v Crusaders, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 5pm; SOLD OUT

URC Round 11: Friday, March 1

Munster v Zebre Parma, Musgrave Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 13: Saturday, March 30

Munster v Cardiff Rugby, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 16: Saturday, May 11

Munster v Connacht, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 18: Saturday, June 1

Munster v Ulster, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Munster Fall To Narrow Leinster Loss In Thomond Park

December 26, 2023 10:09 pm By The Editor

Munster Fall To Narrow Leinster Loss In Thomond Park

Munster had to settle for a losing bonus point after a real arm-wrestle against old rivals Leinster after a St Stephen’s Day battle in the wind and rain at Thomond Park.

The game didn’t produce a try but the capacity festive crowd enjoyed a great battle between two fully committed sides.

Munster, already without several key players, suffered further injury blows when they lost captain Diarmuid Barron, loosehead Dave Kilcoyne and promising young lock Edwin Edogbo.

But they hung in there in a game where both sides had periods of dominance but both defences were top class in the conditions.

Leinster led 6-0 at the break thanks to two penalties in the opening 15 minutes from Harry Byrne.

Munster started the second-half brightly as the rain eased and after going to the right corner without success from a penalty, they opted for the posts from a similar kick but Jack Crowley narrowly missed the target.

However, he made no mistake after 52 minutes from 42 metres after they won a penalty in a scrum.

That cut the gap to 6-3 but that was as close as Munster could get.

Byrne was off target with a couple of penalties for Leinster and that left it still 6-3 going into the closing stages.

Leinster sealed the issue in the final play, winning a couple of penalties before Byrne added his third penalty of the night with Munster having to be content with a losing bonus point as they now turn their attentions to another Irish derby when they make the short journey to Galway next Monday to take on Connacht at the Sportsground.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Calvin Nash (Oli Jager, 79), Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell (Seán O’Brien, 72), Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey (Paddy Patterson, 61); Dave Kilcoyne (Jeremey Loughman, 18), Diarmuid Barron (c) (Eoghan Clarke, 6), Oli Jager (Stephrn Archer, 65); Edwin Edogbo (Brian Gleeson, 50), Gavin Coombes; Tom Ahern, John Hodnett (Alex Kendellen, 70), Jack O’Donoghue.

BKT URC Round 8 Roundup

Diarmuid Barron (foot), Dave Kilcoyne (shoulder) and Edwin Edogbo (achilles) all left the fray with injuries.

Munster’s next match is against Connacht in the Sportsground on New Year’s Day.

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups