DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Named | Munster Side To Visit Ospreys

October 22, 2021 11:48 am By The Editor

Munster side to visit Ospreys

Jack Crowley Mandatory will start for Munster against Ospreys. Inpho

The Munster team has been named by Head Coach Johann van Graan ahead of Saturday’s URC round five clash against Ospreys at the Swansea.com Stadium (7.35pm).

The game is live on URC TV (subscribe here), RTÉ, S4C & Premier Sports.

There are eight changes to the side that defeated Connacht at Thomond Park last time out.

Out-half Jack Crowley makes his first Munster start on his fifth appearance for the province as Matt Gallagher, Liam Coombes, Dan Goggin and Shane Daly also come into the backline.

The three changes in the pack see Jeremy Loughman, Fineen Wycherley and Jack O’Donoghue move into the starting XV.

There is a positional switch for Tadhg Beirne as he starts in the back row.

Gallagher is named at full-back with Andrew Conway and Daly on either wing.

Crowley is partnered by Craig Casey in the half-backs as Goggin and Coombes renew the centre partnership that started against Scarlets in round three.

Loughman, Niall Scannell and John Ryan start in the front row with Jean Kleyn and Wycherley in the engine room.

Tadhg Beirne moves to the back row alongside captain Peter O’Mahony with Jack O’Donoghue at no.8.

John Hodnett, Conor Murray and Damian de Allende are named among the replacements and in line for their first Munster appearances of the season.

Hodnett has been lining out for UCC in recent weeks after recovering from a long-term Achilles injury and could make his first Munster appearance since November 1, 2020.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Munster: Matt Gallagher; Andrew Conway, Liam Coombes, Dan Goggin, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (C), Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Josh Wycherley, Keynan Knox, Gavin Coombes, John Hodnett, Conor Murray, Ben Healy, Damian de Allende.

Video | Press Pass

Hear from Head Coach Johann van Graan and scrum half Craig Casey ahead of the game.

Tickets for Upcoming Games

Saturday, December 18 

Munster v Castres Olympique, Thomond Park, 8pm; Buy tickets here

Sunday, December 26

Munster v Leinster, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

Saturday, January 8 

Munster v Ulster, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Munster Suffer First Defeat Of Season

October 23, 2021 9:55 pm By The Editor

Report Ospreys

Fineen Wycherley is tackled by Rhys Webb.

It was a disappointing finish to this five-match block of the United Rugby Championship with Munster coming away empty handed from Swansea.com stadium after a fully deserved Ospreys won the clash 18-10.

Munster were guilty of too many errors throughout the encounter and the performance was compounded further with penalties conceded in the wrong areas of the field.

Stephen Myler made no mistake off the tee as he kicked six penalties while Munster’s response was a Craig Casey try converted by Jack Crowley, who also added a penalty.

There were opportunities for van Graan’s charges, but a lack of accuracy proved costly at key times.

Ospreys got off to the ideal start when converting a straightforward penalty after Munster were pinged for not releasing in the first minute.

The home side then coughed up points three minutes later with Crowley stepping up for his first penalty for the province after the hosts didn’t roll away.

While the sides were level for most of the first half indiscipline ensured the home side closed it out with two successive Myler penalties and Munster trailed by six points at the break.

On the resumption Myler was back on the tee as he knocked over a fourth penalty to extend the lead, 12-3.

Munster showed great patience to get over for the first try after 53 minutes.  Crowley kicked the men in red into the Ospreys 22 and Craig Casey was at the end of a powerful rolling maul to touch down.

The young out-half added a superb touchline conversion to reduce the deficit and bring Munster within two points.

However, moving into the final quarter the errors continued for the province and with Ospreys pressure mounting Myler, who was flawless from the tee, kicked two further penalties to extend the lead to 18-10.

With Munster chasing points as the clock wound down replacement Ben Healy was unsuccessful as he attempted two long-range penalty kicks, but the home side had done enough to deny the province.

Munster: Matt Gallagher (Damian de Allende, 59); Andrew Conway, Liam Coombes, Dan Goggin, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley (Ben Healy, 72), Craig Casey (Conor Murray, 59); Jeremy Loughman (Josh Wycherley, 59), Niall Scannell (Kevin O’Byrne, 59), John Ryan (Keynan Knox, 52); Jean Kleyn (Gavin Coombes, 52), Fineen Wycherley; Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (C), Jack O’Donoghue (John Hodnett, 59).

United Rugby Championship Round 5 Round-Up

Out-half Jack Crowley made his first start for Munster.

John Hodnett, Conor Murray and Damian de Allende made their first appearances of the season.

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups