DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Named | Munster Side For Guinness PRO14 Final

March 26, 2021 11:55 am By The Editor

Peter O

Peter O'Mahony captains Munster with CJ Stander at no.8. Inpho

The Munster team has been named for Saturday’s Guinness PRO14 final against Leinster at the RDS (5pm).

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Andrew Conway and Keith Earls completing the back three.

Damian de Allende and Chris Farrell form the centre partnership as Conor Murray and Joey Carbery start in the half-backs together for the first time this season.

James Cronin, Niall Scannell and John Ryan pack down in the front row with Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne starting in the engine room.

Gavin Coombes, captain Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander complete the starting XV.

Dave Kilcoyne has completed the return to play protocols and is named among the replacements.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Keith Earls; Joey Carbery, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Gavin Coombes, Peter O’Mahony (C), CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, Stephen Archer, Billy Holland, Jack O’Donoghue, Craig Casey, JJ Hanrahan, Rory Scannell.

Rug-Be At Home

Rug-Be At Home, in association with Bank of Ireland, kicks off for this Saturday’s Guinness PRO14 final on Munster Rugby’s YouTube channel. See full details here.


Relive the best moments from Munster’s road to the Guinness PRO14 final.

Hear from Head Coach Johann van Graan and Tadhg Beirne ahead of the game.

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Guinness PRO14 Final

March 27, 2021 6:49 pm By The Editor

Gavin Coombes on the charge against Leinster.

Gavin Coombes on the charge against Leinster. Inpho

Munster were beaten in the Guinness PRO14 final at the RDS on Saturday evening.

The sides were level at 6-6 after 40 minutes as Joey Carbery kicked two penalties for Munster but Leinster were the stronger side after the break.

Leinster started well and earned an early attacking platform off the kick-off and took the lead through a Ross Byrne penalty after three minutes.

Excellent defence from Keith Earls on the wing  then kept Leinster out as he forced Rory O’Loughlin to misfire his pass to Jordan Larmour.

Byrne kicked his second penalty on 11 minutes after a second Munster infringement at the breakdown to make it 6-0 to Leinster.

Munster hit back two minutes later through Joey Carbery’s first penalty after Rhys Ruddock went in the side to clear out the impressive Gavin Coombes after a big Jean Kleyn tackle on Cian Healy.

A brilliant one-handed pass from Damien de Allende nearly released Mike Haley down the right wing but the Leinster defence recovered and the chance was gone.

CJ Stander and Gavin Coombes held up Leinster over the line before a Keith Earls intercept brought an end to the attack.

CJ Stander won a breakdown penalty on halfway but Conor Murray’s long-range effort drifted just wide. Coombes then made a break through midfield but Leinster managed to choke tackle Earls on the wing and Leinster regained possession.

Larmour was pinged for not releasing after a Murray tackle but Carbery’s penalty struck the post.

A Jack Conan high tackle on Murray gave Carbery another chance on the stroke of half-time and the out-half made no mistake to level the sides at 6-6.

Leinster made a strong start to the second half, winning a scrum penalty and kicking into Munster territory but the visitors defence did superbly to hold them out.

Jack Conan did get over from close range on 46 minutes as Leinster regained the lead with Byrne’s conversion making it 13-6.

Munster were pinged at the breakdown after 53 minutes but Byrne was off target with the attempt.

Coombes won a massive turnover to halt a Leinster attack on 58 minutes and Munster went on the charge but Ryan Baird dislodged the ball from CJ Stander and the chance was gone.

Byrne made it 16-6 with his third penalty after 68 minutes and that’s how it stayed as Leinster took the title.

In injury news, captain Peter O’Mahony departed after 47 minutes with a deep cut.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende (Rory Scannell, 73), Keith Earls; Joey Carbery (JJ Hanrahan, 68), Conor Murray (Craig Casey, 68); James Cronin (Dave Kilcoyne, 51), Niall Scannell (Kevin O’Byrne, 52), John Ryan (Stephen Archer, 51); Jean Kleyn (Billy Holland, 68), Tadhg Beirne; Gavin Coombes, Peter O’Mahony (C) (inj, Jack O’Donoghue, 47), CJ Stander.

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups