DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Named | Munster Side For Benetton Quarter-Final

May 3, 2019 6:03 pm By The Editor

Thomond Park is set for its final game of the season.

Thomond Park is set for its final game of the season.

The Munster side has been named for Saturday’s Guinness PRO14 quarter-final against Benetton Rugby at Thomond Park (3pm).

Kids go free for the clash – and you can purchase at the gate up until kick-off.

Peter O’Mahony captains the side with three changes to the team that defeated Connacht last weekend as Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam and Conor Murray come into the backline.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Andrew Conway and Sweetnam on either flank.

Scannell and Chris Farrell pair up in the centres with Murray and Tyler Bleyendaal in the half-backs.

Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row.

Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne start in the engine room with O’Mahony, Chris Cloete and CJ Stander completing the side in the back row.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Liam O’Connor, John Ryan, Billy Holland, Arno Botha, Alby Mathewson, JJ Hanrahan, Dan Goggin.

Match-day information can be found here.

Video | Press Pass

Munster Head Coach Johann van Graan, Jean Kleyn and Chris Farrell were all speaking to the media this week, hear the thoughts of the trio ahead of the clash below.

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Late Hanrahan Penalty Earns Semi-Final Place

May 4, 2019 5:32 pm By The Editor

JJ Hanrahan celebrates kicking the winning penalty.

JJ Hanrahan celebrates kicking the winning penalty.

A dramatic late JJ Hanrahan penalty from the halfway line saw Munster secure their place in the Guinness PRO14 semi-final after a hard-fought win against Benetton at Thomond Park on Saturday afternoon.

The Italian side led for the majority of the second half but Hanrahan’s late penalty means Munster will face Leinster at the RDS on Saturday, May 18 (3pm).

Munster’s ticket allocation for the semi-final will be distributed through the Munster Rugby clubs, the Munster Rugby Supporters Club and 10-Year Ticket Holders. Full ticket details will be released shortly.

A dominant start for Munster was not rewarded with any scores as fierce Benetton defence kept the hosts at bay.

Munster engineered a number of early opportunities with Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell and Tadhg Beirne all denied within metres of the line.

The hosts took the lead on 23 minutes thanks to Bleyendaal’s first penalty, from long-range, after Murray was taken out at the base of a ruck.

Benetton hit back two minutes later after Peter O’Mahony was penalised at the breakdown and captain Tommaso Allan landed his first shot at goal.

The Italians took the lead on the stroke of half-time as winger Ratuva Tavuyara finished expertly in the right corner. Allan landed the touchline conversion to give Benetton a 10-3 lead at the break.

An O’Mahony lineout steal early in the second half gave Munster good field position and Bleyendaal kicked his second penalty to reduce the gap to four after 43 minutes.

Vital last-ditch Andrew Conway and Mike Haley tackles prevented Benetton from increasing the lead after Monty Ioane’s break with the Italian side continuing to look dangerous.

Allan punished a Munster offside with his second penalty just short of the hour mark to restore Benetton’s seven-point lead.

A dangerous tackle on John Ryan gave Hanrahan his first shot at goal after 62 minutes and the replacement made no mistake to reduce the gap to four points once again.

Hanrahan’s second penalty four minutes later gave Munster further encouragement but the province were forced onto the back foot once again by Benetton with the Italians’ efforts of a killer second try thwarted by outstanding defence.

A brilliant John Ryan turnover was vital before CJ Stander earned the crucial penalty near halfway with Benetton kicking the ball away in the aftermath to bring Hanrahan within striking distance.

There was huge pressure on the strike, let alone the 50-metre distance, but JJ nailed it to give Munster the lead with four minutes remaining.

Benetton had two final efforts to snatch the victory but drop-goal efforts from Antonio Rizzi and Jayden Hayward were wayward and Munster live to fight another day.

Guinness PRO14 Quarter-Final Round-Up

Munster qualified for the Guinness PRO14 semi-finals for the third successive season.

The semi-final against Leinster will take place at the RDS on Saturday, May 18, 3pm.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell (Dan Goggin, 69), Darren Sweetnam; Tyler Bleyendaal (JJ Hanrahan, 47), Conor Murray (Alby Mathewson, 66); Dave Kilcoyne (Liam O’Connor, 72), Niall Scannell (Kevin O’Byrne, 72), Stephen Archer (John Ryan, 50); Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne (Billy Holland, 47); Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete (Arno Botha, 62), CJ Stander.

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups