Munster Rugby | Official Website

No ALT tag specified
IWRFU Women's Interprovincial Final
10 October 2004, 4:28 pm
A second draw in as many weeks between Munster and Leinster saw the 2004 Interprovincial title head back to Munster.
A second draw in as many weeks between these sides saw the 2004 Interprovincial title head back to Munster.

A 10-10 scoreline at the end of extra time meant that Munster's better points difference in the overall league table was enough to see them crowned champions for the fourth year running.

Leinster opened the scoring after only ten minutes when Grace Davitt was set up by Joanne O Sullivan for a well taken try. Munster replied with an individual effort from Sarah-Jane Belton in the corner before the turnaround.

Leinster were ahead again inearly in the second half with a wide move resulting in a try for wing Carol Dunning.Her opposite number Lynne Cantwell, however ensured Munster were level minutes later when the tournaments top try scorer sprinted over in the left corner.

The sides remained deadlocked in the twenty minutes of injury time that ensued with Munster hanging on for the most closely fought title race of their reign.

Final Score: Munster 10 Leinster 10 (Munster win title due to better points table difference) Scorers:

Munster (SJ Belton 1 try, L Cantwell 1 try) Leinster (G Davitt 1 try, C Dunning 1 try)

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Munster Rugby15130259
2Leinster Rugby15120356
5Ulster Rugby1490543
6Glasgow Warriors1580741
© 2017 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM