No ALT tag specified
UL Bohemian RFC News
8 August 2005, 7:40 pm
UL Bohemian RFC celebrated winning the Pat Lawler Cup, having waited 21 years to take the honours in the U.13 competition

By Mike McLoughlin

PRO Youth Committee

North Munster Branch


Well after waiting 21 years UL Bohemian RFC finally lifted the Pat Lawler Cup. We did it in style winning our six games last Saturday in a sun drenched Thomond Park. The whole occasion was very special, starting with all the teams parading behind the UL Bohs and Thomond RFC banners in very warm and sunny conditions. This was backed up by the music of the Boherbuoy Brass & Reed Band.

To those of you that are not familiar with this tournament a little bit of background of the event is necessary. Pat Lawler played Senior rugby for UL Bohemian RFC from the mid 60 s to the mid 70 s and also played for Thomond RFC. He was a magnificent player and his talents were well known. After his very sudden death his wife (Patricia nee Hartery) and family agreed with Bohs that a cup should be played for in his honour. We have always hosted this National competition since it started in the early 1980 s. Every year at least two clubs from Ulster and many clubs outside of Munster have participated. It is a fantastic competition and is widely regarded as one of the best of its kind in the country. UL Bohemians plan and organise the event with the Lawler family assisting with the catering for the adults on the day.

Our match details were as follows

Round 1

V Young Munster UL Bohs 5 Young Munster 0

Scorers: Shane Madden, Enda Carroll, Cormac O Connor, Barry Neville & Conor Clancy

Referee: Ken McNamara

V Kilfeacle - UL Bohs 3 Kilfeacle 1

Scorers: Daniel Morrissey 2 & Conor McLoughlin 1

Referee: Ken McNamara

V St. Marys (Limk.) UL Bohs 5 St. Marys 0

Scorers: Conor Clancy 2, Daniel Morrissey, Cormac O Connor & Niall Horan

Referee: Ken McNamara

Quarter Final

V St. Senans UL Bohs 6 St.Senans 1

Scorers: Shane Madden & Conor Clancy 2 each, Mike Dooley & Cathal Ryan 1 each.

Referee: Ken McNamara

Semi Final

V Ennis UL Bohs 5 Ennis 2

Scorers: Enda Carroll & Shane Madden 2 each & Conor McLoughlin

Referee: Gerry Clifford


V Coleraine UL Bohs 2 Coleraine 1

Scorers: Daniel Morrissey and Conor Clancy

Referee. Denis Scanlan

We had 16 players in the squad and kept a rotating system in place (except for the final) with all players getting meaningful playing time.

Many players had outstanding performances and we are reluctant to single out any. In the final the boys played out of their skins and except for brief spells at the end of each half dominated the game with total commitment to closing down the opposition. We scored in the fourth minute after constant pressure on the Coleraine line and they were panicked into dropping the ball behind their line Daniel Morrissey pounced to score. We were most unlucky not to score immediately with a great backline move but unfortunately the last pass was knocked on. The half time pep talk was easy more of the same lads .

We scored early in the second half with our flying winger Conor Clancy scored in the right corner from a well worked maul down the centre of the field. With time running out we had to defend our line stoutly but Coleraine scored with the final move of the game. Great scenes of celebration at the final whistle and Coleraine were very gracious in defeat. They openly admitted that we just did not allow them play. True traditional in your face Limerick rugby did the trick. We selected a different captain per game but stuck with Enda Carroll for the semi-final and final. The management team of myself, Dermot Madden and Tony Quilty would like to take this opportunity to thank Neil Kelly our Chairman for been so supportive and all others for making the day such a success including Lisa Quilty for her First Aid assistance with the winning team.

The three of us cannot let the moment pass without mentioning our second team on the day that was managed by John Daly, Adrian O Sullivan, Niall O Regan and Deirdre Jordan. Although with many players unavailable to them they put in a great effort with the players at their disposal. They played with great determination and were not disgraced. They were eventually knocked out in the quarter final of the plate.

The sixteen players that made club history are as follows.



Enda Carroll (2nd row)


Conor Clancy (wing)


Jordan Daly (prop)


Mike Dooley (2nd row)


Colm Doyle (2nd row)


Niall Horan (prop)


Rory Kavanagh (prop)


Shane Madden (wing)


Brian Masterson (hooker)


Daniel Morrissey (o/half & centre))


Conor McLoughlin (s/half)


Barry Neville (o/half & centre)


Cormac O Connor (prop & 2nd row)


Diarmuid O Regan (wing)


Cathal Ryan (hooker & s/half)


Kevin Walsh (2nd row)


You will notice from above that we have four players from the Adare parish. This is a direct result of Robert Bourke s influence when he decided to move into that parish a few years ago Thanks Robert. As you would expect there is a strong representation from the Annacotty region with the remaining boys sons of ex Bohemian players.

This age group will for the first time in the clubs history be putting two full 15 a side teams in the Under 13 League and Cup. We have named the squads UL Bohs Lions and UL Bohs Stags

So now we move on and hopefully this age group will bring honours to the club over the years.

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM