No ALT tag specified
Paul O'Connell
O'Connell Named In A squad
2 February 2008, 1:04 pm
By Pat Geraghty
Munster mix youth and experience for tomorrow's A clash with Ulster at Shawsbridge (4pm) with Paul O'Connell named in the 24 strong squad.
Another who returns to Munster colours after a long bout of injury is flanker Jake Paringatai who damaged a cheebone when he came on as a second half replacement in the Heineken Cup game against Clermont Auvergne in Thomond Park in mid November.

Barry Murphy who returns to Ravenhill for the first time since sustaining a horrific ankle injury in March 2006 was particulrly impressive in Munster's previous A outing, a win over Leinster at the Sports Bowl in UL.

Meanwhile Gary Longwell the Ulster A coach speaking about the game said, "Our side is a good mixture of professional and Academy players and it's great to see club players getting to represent Ulster at A level. The team have had a relatively short time to prepare for this fixture but everyone involved is really enthusiastic about playing A games"

Munster A Squad: Tom Gleeson, Anthony Horgan, Ian Hanley, Ciaran O'Boyle, Keith Earls, Conan Doyle, Barry Murphy, Evan Ryan, Jeremy Manning, Gerry Hurley, Tomas O'Leary, Darragh Hurley, Eugene McGovern, Tim Ryan, Sean Cronin, Denis Fogarty, Mark Melbourne, Billy Holland, Paul O'Connell, Jake Paringatai, Barry O'Mahony, Tommy O'Donnell, James Coughlan, Dave Sherry.

Ulster A: Richard McCarter (Dungannon); Mark Barker (QUB), Seamus Mallon (Ballymena), Ian Whitten (QUB), Paul McKenzie (Belfast Harlequins); Kieran Hallett (Malone), Kieran Campbell (Dungannon); Jarlath Carey (Malone), Matt Miles (Ballynahinch), Adrian Kirkpatrick (Ballymena), Ian Caldwell(Ballymena), Sam McDonald (Malone), Thomas Anderson (Dungannon), Neil McMillan (Ballymena), Chris Henry (Ballymena). Replacements: Glen Sinnamon (Dungannon), Michael Harshaw (Ballymena), Neville Magee (Dungannon), Mark Robinson (QUB), David Drake (Ballymena), Donovan Raw (Ballymena); Dale Black (Dungannon).

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby19141469
2Ulster Rugby19140565
3Munster Rugby19140563
4Glasgow Warriors18140460
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM