No ALT tag specified
Paul O'Connell pictured training in UL
Inpho/Cathal Noonan
The Cull Begins
8 August 2007, 4:06 pm
By Pat Geraghty
Ireland Coach Eddie O'Sullivan has trimmed his Rugby World Cup squad down to 37 players from the original training squad of 48 for next week's test match against Scotland.
13 of those that remain are from Munster with Tony Buckley, Kieran Lewis and Tomas O'Leary all released while Barry Murphy is out injured

The entire Rugby World Cup squad were put through their paces during a productive week long camp in the University of Limerick, but with the first warm up game against Scotland on Saturday week (11th August), the Ireland coach felt that it would be better to bring the
numbers down for the team selection of that game.

O'Sullivan said, "The team to play Scotland will be selected from the 37 man squad named today. While the players that have been omitted may come back into the squad in the case of any injuries, it would be fair to say that these 37 players will form the basis of our final Rugby World Cup Squad selection."

"All of the squad have worked extremely hard this week and this has put us into a good position as regard the quality of our training.
The game against Scotland will be the last chance we have to look at players before we name our 30 man squad. After that, there will be
some very difficult decisions to be made."

The squad trained today in the University of Limerick. Gordon D'Arcy and David Wallace, who were both carrying minor calf and ankle injuries respectively, both took part in the session. Ronan O'Gara sat out today's session as he continues to recover from his minor knee injury. In other injury news, Tommy Bowe picked up a slight calf strain and Ryan Caldwell was injured during a continuity contact session. He has been diagnosed with concussion and has been taken to hospital where he will remain overnight for precautionary reasons.

The squad for the Scotland game will assemble in Dublin on Sunday evening and the team to play Scotland will be selected on Tuesday (7th August).

Forwards (22): Neil Best, Rory Best, Simon Best, Leo Cullen, Simon Easterby, Stephen Ferris, Jerry Flannery, Keith Gleeson, John Hayes, Jamie Heaslip, Trevor Hogan, Marcus Horan, Bernard Jackman, Denis Leamy, Donncha O'Callaghan, Paul O'Connell, Mick O'Driscoll, Malcolm O'Kelly, Alan Quinlan, Frankie Sheahan, David Wallace, Bryan Young,

Backs (15): Isaac Boss, Tommy Bowe, Brian Carney, Gordon D'Arcy, Girvan Dempsey, Gavin Duffy, Shane Horgan, Denis Hickie, Geordan Murphy, Brian O'Driscoll, Ronan O'Gara, Eoin Reddan, Peter Stringer, Andrew Trimble, Paddy Wallace.

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Ulster Rugby20140665
3Glasgow Warriors19150464
4Munster Rugby19140563
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM