No ALT tag specified
Cork Con Win Inaugural AIB Cup
4 April 2006, 9:57 am
Congratulations to Cork Constitution on winning the very first AIB Cup title at Lansdowne Road on Saturday. A double Munster win didn't materialise as Youghal went down to Rainey Old Boys



Cork Con: Tries: Cronan Healy 4, Anthony Horgan; Cons: Darragh Lyons 3; Pen: Lyons; Drop: Lyons

St. Mary's: Tries: Ciaran Potts, Keith Douglas; Con: Barry Lynn

Cork Constitution claimed the inaugural AIB Cup title with a deserved 37-12 win over St. Mary s College in Lansdowne Road on Saturday. With experienced winger Cronan Healy named Man of the Match after a dazzling four try display, the Cork side celebrated this title win, having also won the very first AIB All Ireland League title back in 1991.

Cronan Healy gave a masterful display on the wing, picking up the first of his four tries 15 minutes into the game, with out half Darragh Lyons adding the conversion. St. Mary s responded three minutes later with a try from Ciaran Potts, with Barry Lynn converting to even the score. After 23 minutes, Healy crossed the line for the second time, after a 20 metre run. Lyons added a drop goal on 28 minutes to finish the scoring for the first half, with Cork Constitution leading 15-7. Four minutes after the restart Anthony Horgan picked up Con s third try to stretch their lead. Ten minutes later, Cronan Healy secured Con s fourth try, with Lyons converting to out Con 20 points ahead. Lyons added another penalty eighteen minutes into the second half. St. Mary s mounted something of a comeback after 65 minutes of play with a try from centre Keith Douglas, however, the comeback was shortlived as Cronan Healy collected his fourth try of the day just three minutes later, with Lyons converting to complete the scoring at 37-12. .

Cork Constitution:

Richard Lane; Anthony Horgan, Tom Gleeson, Conor Quaid, Cronan Healy; Darragh Lyons, Frank Murphy; Mike Ross, Des Murray, Tom Ryan, Shane Cottrell, Johnny Maloney, Brendan Cutriss, Merle O'Connell, Frank Cogan (capt).

Replacements: Brendan O'Connor, JJ Cahill, Jody Danaher, Landy Hill, Andrew O'Brien, Diarmuid O'Riordan, Alex Ryan.

St. Mary's College:

Frank Lynch; James Norton, Keith Douglas, Barry Lynn, John McWeeney (capt); Jonathan Sexton, John Kilbride; Cillian O'Byrne, Peter Smyth, Paul Collins, Eoin Keane, Gareth Logan, Willie Duggan, Paul Nash, Adrian Copeland.

Replacements (from): Simon Gibney, Rob Smyth, Rob Gannon, Mark McHugh, Philip Brophy, Ollie McCormack, Matt Duggan, Brian Moran, Ciaran Potts, Hendrick Gervais.

Sin Bin: C O'Byrne (Mary's) (36 mins)

Referee: George Clancy (Munster)




Rainey: Tries: Neil Seffen, Nathan Amos 2, John Andrews; Cons: Jerome McMurray 2; Pen: McMurray

Youghal: Try: Brendan Murray

With a margin of 22 points between the sides at half time, Youghal could do very little to turn the tide as Rainey paid claim to the very first AIB Junior Cup title. A first half try from Neil Seffen, two from Nathan Amos, and two conversions and penalty from Jerome McMurray, and a second half try from John Andrews were enough to do all the damage, with Youghal s Brendan Murray putting Youghal s only score on the board 16 minutes into the second half.

Both Rainey and Youghal, who emerged with credit after drawing the second half 5-5, now turn their attentions to the All-Ireland Round Robin Series, which will see them compete with Monkstown and Westport for a place in AIB League Division Three next season.


Rodney Paul; Neil Seffen, Simon Derby, Darryl Porter, Gavin Hogg; Jerome McMurray, Richard Paul; Nathan Amos, Gary Coleman, Neil O'Kane, Peter Boyle (capt), Cormac Diamond, Stephen McKinstry, Steven McGinnis, John Andrews.

Replacements: Damian Campbell, Paul McGuckian, Garreth Douglas, Evan Stewart, David Dawson, James McBride, Paul Suiter.


Sean Barry; Brendan Mackey, Thomas Curran, Eric Buckley, Stephen Barron; Robbie Doyle, Joseph Lawlor; Jonathan Collins, Sean Brosnan, Roy McArdle (capt), Eoghan Power, Colin Mulcahy, Conor Coleman, Alan Browne, Shaun McCready.

Replacements: Gary McArdle, Richard Laffan, Ian Broderick, Barry Kavanagh, Mark Walsh, Brendan Murray, Eoin Fox.

Referee: John Carvill (Leinster)

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM