No ALT tag specified
Paul O'Connell
Munster Name Side For Ospreys Game
1 January 2009, 9:31 am
Paul O'Connell will lead a Munster side that includes Denis Leamy and Tomas O'Leary for the top of the table clash with Ospreys at the Liberty Stadium in Swansea tomorrow evening.
However missing from the squad announced yesterday are Kieran Lewis, Keith Earls, Niall Ronan and Marcus Horan who are suffering from a stomach bug - as is Tony Buckley while Ronan O'Gara's hamstring injury has not cleared up in time to allow him participate although Munster management are hopeful he will be fit in time for the game against Sale.

The absence of O'Gara, Jeremy Manning, Rua Tipoki and Kieran Lewis means a place in the squad for Garryowen player Conan Doyle and Development player Tom Gleeson.

League leaders Ospreys were given a further boost ahead of the Munster visit with the news that former Wales skills coach and current US Eagles coach Scott Johnson is about to take over from current coach Sean Holley at the Liberty.

A report in the Western Mail claims that the deal 'has been virtually signed, sealed and delivered' with Ospreys insiders saying it is only a question of dotting the 'i's' and crossing the 't's'.

Munster: D Hurley; D Howlett, B Murphy, L Mafi, I Dowling; P Warwick, T O'Leary; F Pucciariello, J Flannery, J Hayes; D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell capt; A Quinlan, D Wallace, D Leamy. Replacements: D Fogarty, T Ryan, M O'Driscoll, J O'Sullivan, P Stringer, C Doyle, T Gleeson.

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby19141469
2Ulster Rugby19140565
3Munster Rugby19140563
4Glasgow Warriors18140460
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM