No ALT tag specified
Tom Gleeson pictured here in RaboDirect PRO12 action alongside Lifeimi Mafi and Johne Murphy
Seven Included In Ireland Starting XV
5 May 2012, 11:50 am
The Ireland XV for the game against the Barbarians in Kingsholm, Gloucester on Tuesday, k.o 7.35pm has been named and includes seven Munster players.

Ireland's most capped player Ronan O'Gara will captain the side and is partnered at half-back by fellow Munster man Conor Murray.

Keith Earls starts at fullback with the uncapped Simon Zebo making his first start in a senior game on the wing.

Up front Brett Wilkinson and Declan Fitzpatrick will pack down on either side of Munster hooker Mike Sherry in an uncapped front row.

Dan Tuohy and Munster's Donnacha Ryan form a new second row partnership at this level while Peter O'Mahony starts at number 8 and James Coughlan is included among the replacements.

The game is not being televised however updates will be available on O2 MatchDay Live on

Meanwhile, in other Munster news Tom Gleeson has ended his professional rugby career. The 26 year old Cork native made his debut for Munster as a Munster Academy player in September 2006 and progressed through to Development and then full contract.

Educated at PBC he played at Ireland Schools and Under 21 levels and also represented Ireland at Sevens alongside Munster colleague James Coughlan. He represented Munster 21 times at senior level.

A degree holder in Chemistry from UCC, he hopes to return there to study medicine and has not ruled out the possibility of returning to rugby at club level.

Declan Cusack has also ended his association with Munster. He made his first start for them in April 2010 and featured in both British & Irish Cup finals. He is expected to continue on in the amateur game with Garryowen.

Ireland v Barbarians Squad

15. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
14. Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)*
13. Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
12. Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)
11. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)*
10. Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster) (CAPTAIN)
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
1. Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians /Connacht)*
2. Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster)*
3. Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon/Ulster)*
4. Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
5. Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
6. John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)
7. Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)
8. Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)


16. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
17. Ronan Loughney (Galwegians/Connacht)*
18. Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
19. James Coughlan (Dolphin/Munster)*
20. Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*
21. Nevin Spence (Ballynahinch/Ulster)*
22. Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Related News
  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM