Doug Howlett
Doug Howlett
Thomond Starts With a Win
9 September 2010, 10:21 pm
Munster edged it 3-0 at halftime but a second half display that included a try from captain Doug Howlett and four penalties from O'Gara gave Munster a 22-10 victory over the Ospreys tonight in Thomond Park.
Munster were quick to pull ahead in the second half with Doug Howlett scoring a try after 2 minutes. Ronan O'Gara converted and kicked a further four out of five penalties.

Ospreys added two second half tries with Tommy Bowe going over after 44 minutes and replacement Richard Fussel scoring after 75 minutes. Ospreys outhalf Dan Bigger missed both conversions.

Alan Quinlan after the win and receiving his 200th cap "I'm very proud, to get an opportunity to run out in Thomond Park in front of great supporters was very special. When I started out I never thought I'd still be around now and I'm still striving for success and I'm motivated every time I pull on the jersey, and it's very special to me."

Tony McGahan added "It was really important we progress each week and we're happy where we are after three games in the Magners League. We've a bit of a way to go, and a long way to go in some aspects, but we're slowly taking steps forward each week and we hope to continue that really."

Commenting on Doug Howlett "He's a thorough professional, he looks really sharp at the moment, even after all he's achieved in his career he's still looking to progress" and Alan Quinlan "What more can you say about Alan, he's enthusiastic in everything he does, he was huge for us tonight, and I'm delighted for him and his family."

Munster: F Jones, D Howlett (Capt), J Murphy, S Tuitupou, I Dowling, P Warwick, T O'Leary, M Horan, D Fogarty, J Hayes, D O'Callaghan, D Ryan, A Quinlan, N Ronan, J Coughlan. Replacements: D Varley, W du Preez, T Buckley, B Holland, P O'Mahony, P Stringer, R O'Gara, D Barnes.

Ospreys: L Byrne, N Walker, T Bowe, A Bishop, S Williams, D Biggar, J Nutbrown; P James, M Davies, C Mitchell, A W Jones (Capt), I Evans, J Collins, M Holah, J Thomas. Replacements: R Hibbard, D Jones, A Jones, B Lewis, R Webb, G Owen, R Fussell.

Referee: Neil Paterson (SRU).

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Ulster Rugby20140665
3Glasgow Warriors19150464
4Munster Rugby19140563
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM