No ALT tag specified
Reasons to be cheerful
Dan Sheridan/Inpho
Stringer Back In Ireland Senior Squad
1 January 2009, 2:38 pm
By JJ Fogarty
Peter Stringer is just one of two scrum halves included in the extended Ireland squad for the RBS Six Nations opener against France in Croke Park on Saturday week (Feb 7th.
Stringer, Ireland's most capped scrum-half, is preferred to either Eoin Reddan or Isaac Boss and joins his Munster scrum-half team-mate Tomas O'Leary in an Ireland squad containing 13 Munster players. There will be some surprise that number wasn't 14 with Ian Dowling a surprise omission having had a faultless season to date in Munster's run to a record 11th successive Heineken Cup quarter final and the head of affairs in the Magners League.

The full squad who trained in Limerick this week were split into Senior and A squads after the morning training session before the players broke for the weekend. They will re-assemble in Dublin on Sunday evening and the respective starting XVs will be announced at lunchtime on Tuesday.

Ireland Squad (27). Tommy Bowe, Girvan Dempsey, Gordon D'Arcy, Keith Earls, Luke Fitzgerald, Shane Horgan, Robert Kearney, Geordan Murphy, Brian O'Driscoll, capt, Ronan O'Gara, Tomas O'Leary, Peter Stringer, Paddy Wallace. Rory Best, Tom Court, Stephen Ferris, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes, Jamie Heaslip, Marcus Horan, Denis Leamy, Donncha O'Callaghan, Paul O'Connell, Mick O'Driscoll, Malcolm O'Kelly, Alan Quinlan, David Wallace.

France Squad: Maxime Medard, Clement Poitrenaud, Cedric Heymans (all Toulouse), Julien Malzieu (Clermont-Auvergne), Yannick Jauzion, Florian Fritz (both Toulouse), Benoit Baby (Clermont-Auvergne), Lionel Beauxis (Stade Francais), Sebastien Tillous-Borde (Castres), Morgan Parra (Bourgoin)

Forwards: Fabien Barcella (Biarritz), Lionel Faure (Sale), Fabien Lecouls (Toulouse), Nicolas Mas (Perpignan), Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Francais), Benjamin Kayser (Leicester), Lionel Nallet (Castres), Romain Millo-Chluski (Toulouse), Sebastien Chabal (Sale), Imanol Harinordoquy (Biarritz), Fulgence Ouedraogo, Louis Picamoles (both Montpellier), Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse)

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM