No ALT tag specified
Duncan Casey at the tail of a Munster roll
U20 Interpro - Munster Fail To Take Advantage
9 September 2009, 3:29 pm
Although they went into a 15-7 lead early in the second half of their clash with 14 man Connacht, Munster's U20s still ended up on the wrong end of the final scoreline.
Shortly after the home side saw their prop Denis Buckley yellow carded, Munster full back Luke O'Dea scored an excellently worked try that seemed to leave them in pole position for the win. However, as is often the case when sides are reduced, Connacht discovered an tenacity that had been lacking and when wing Tiernan O'Halloran sliced through the Munster midfield to score under the posts it signaled the start of a comeback that would ultimately yield victory.

Munster's cause had not being helped by the late withdrawal of influential number 9 David O'Driscoll whose place was taken by Brian Slater with Gavin Nugent coming onto the bench. However, they enjoyed much the better of the opening exchanges and scored their opening try in the 32nd minute through centre Michael Kelleher. Cormac O'Flynn converted and added a penalty three minutes later to give his side a 10-0 lead.

Indiscipline in injury time allowed cost Munster valuable territory and from a lineout the westerners drove over for a try with the conversion leaving them trailing by just three points at the break.

That lead stretched to 15 with O'Dea's try but Connacht began to get on top in the set piece with O'Halloran's try setting them alight. Conor Murphy's conversion of O'Halloran's try made it a one point game and with six minutes remaining, Connacht number 8 Shane Conneely scored the all decisive try.

Munster had their opportunities in the closing stages but were unable to capitalise.

Their next game is on Friday evening (7.45pm) against Leinster in Thomond Park Stadium.

Munster U20. Luke O'Dea; Craig O'Hanlon, Michael Kelleher, Gareth Quinn McDonagh, Simon Zebo; Cormac O'Flynn, Brian Slater; Brian Cagney, Duncan Casey, Brendan Cullinane; Sean Duggan, Brian Hayes; David O'Callaghan, John Quill, Patrick Butler. Replacements: JP Cooney, Ger Burke, Edward Kelly, Johnny MacCarthy, Gavin Nugent, Kevin Kidney, Darren Moroney.

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby19141469
2Ulster Rugby19140565
3Munster Rugby19140563
4Glasgow Warriors18140460
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM