No ALT tag specified
Australia Selection for Leicester an Indicator.
11 November 2010, 1:27 pm
By The Editor
The Australian selection for tomorrow night's game against Leicester Tigers at Welford Road will give an indication of what Munster will face in a week's time according to Munster Team Manager Shaun Payne.
Speaking to journalist earlier today at his regular media briefing in UL Payne stated that, 'in all probability the side that we play will be along the same lines as the one that plays the Tigers." And that side includes the Waratah pairing of Luke Burgess and Berrick Barnes at half back, Barnes the captain in Welford Road.

Payne also admitted that it would be Monday before he can finalise the Munster side as he awaits developments from the national camp with regard to what players will be available. To that end, he named an extended squad that excluded all of Munster's internationals - Niall Ronan excepted - plus those obviously not available through injury.

That squad includes Canterbury prop Peter Borlase who is expected to arrive on Thursday, Tom Gleeson back from injury and Sam Tuitupou who returns following suspension. Of those named in the squad the only concern is for lock Dave Foley who has an ankle injury that will require further medical examination later this week.

Munster Squad: Mike Sherry, Sean Henry, Wian du Preez, Peter Borlase, Dave Ryan, Stephen Archer, Dave Foley, Ian Nagle, Brian Hayes, Billy Holland, Alan Quinlan, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan, Tommy O'Donnell, Peter O'Mahony, Paddy Butler, Duncan Williams, Paul Warwick, Conor Murray, Declan Cusack, JJ Hanrahan, Tom Gleeson, Barry Murphy, Sam Tuitupou, Ivan Dineen, Doug Howlett, Simon Zebo, Sean Scanlon,Denis Hurley, Scott Deasy.

Australia (v Leicester Tigers): Peter Hynes (Queensland Reds), Rod Davies (Queensland Reds), Pat McCabe (Brumbies), Anthony Faingaa, (Queensland Reds), Lachie Turner (NSW Waratahs); Berrick Barnes capt (NSW Waratahs), Luke Burgess (NSW Waratahs);
James Slipper (Queensland Reds), Huia Edmonds (Brumbies), Salesi Ma'afu (Brumbies); Van Humphries (Queensland Reds), Rob Simmons (Queensland Reds); Scott Higginbotham (Queensland Reds), Matt Hodgson (Western Force), Richard Brown (Western Force). Replacements: Saia Faingaa (Queensland Reds), Ben Daley (Queensland Reds), Dean Mumm (NSW Waratahs), Pat McCutcheon (NSW Waratahs), Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), Matt Giteau (Brumbies), Luke Morahan (Queensland Reds)

Related News
  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM