No ALT tag specified
Peter Stringer in Irish Training
Kidney Makes Changes
3 March 2009, 2:04 pm
Declan Kidney has made four changes to the starting XV for Ireland's clash with Scotland in the RBS 6 Nations this Saturday in Edinburgh, ko 5pm.
Gordon D'Arcy, Peter Stringer, Rory Best and Denis Leamy have all been elevated to the starting XV after several appearances from the replacements bench during the first three games of the Championship and strong performances in the Magners League for their provinces.

D'Arcy starts his first game for Ireland in over a year after being named in the centre in place of Paddy Wallace, who moves to the replacements. Scrumhalf Peter Stringer takes up the No.9 jersey after swapping places with Tomas O'Leary who started the games against France, Italy and England.

The other two changes to the Ireland side are in the pack. In the front row, Rory Best is named at hooker with Jerry Flannery taking Best's position among the replacements. Denis Leamy, who came on in place of Jamie Heaslip during the England game, is picked to start the game at No.8 with Heaslip backing up from the bench.

The game will also be landmark for Ireland tight head prop John Hayes who will become the most capped Irish player of all time winning his 93rd cap, overhauling fellow Ireland squad member Malcolm O'Kelly's previous record of 92 caps.

Ireland Team v Scotland
15 - Robert Kearney (UCD - Leinster)
14 - Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
13 - Brian O'Driscoll (UCD - Leinster) Captain
12 - Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne - Leinster)
11 - Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College - Leinster)
10 - Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution - Munster)
9 - Peter Stringer (Shannon - Munster)
1 - Marcus Horan (Shannon - Munster)
2 - Rory Best (Banbridge - Ulster)
3 - John Hayes (Bruff- Munster)
4 - Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution - Munster)
5 - Paul O'Connell (Young Munster - Munster)
6 - Stephen Ferris (Dungannon - Ulster)
7 - David Wallace (Garryowen - Munster)
8 - Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution - Munster)

16 - Jerry Flannery (Shannon - Munster)
17 - Tom Court (Malone - Ulster)
18 - Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution - Munster)
19 - Jamie Heaslip (Naas - Leinster)
20 - Tomas O'Leary (Dolphin - Munster)
21 - Paddy Wallace (Ballymena - Ulster)
22 - Geordan Murphy (Leicester)

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM