No ALT tag specified
Christophe Berdos awards what turned out to be the match and series winning penalty
Billy Stickland
Brave Lions Lose It At The Death
6 June 2009, 2:52 pm
By Pat Geraghty
Outstanding in the opening half, at the end of which they led 18-6, the lions ended up losing 28-25 when replacement Morne Steyn landed an added time penalty.
That score was awarded against Ronan O'Gara just minutes after Stephen Jones had tied the score 25-25 with a penalty for a high tackle on Simon Shaw but shortly after the restart of that score, O'Gara launched a garryowen but then got pinged for interfering with the jumper, Fourie du Preez.

After Ruan Pienaar had missed two relatively easy penalty opportunities in the 48th and 52nd minutes, Jones extended the Lions half timeNo ALT tag specified lead with a penalty in the 59th minute but then Bryan Habana scored a cracking try that replacement Morne Steyn converted to leave four points separating the sides.

Steyn was again on the mark in the 68th minute to make it a one point game but Jones cancelled that out from the restart after Schalk Burger - lucky to be on the field after an early first half incident - had been penalised for offside.

Then, following consultation with the TMO, Jaque Fourie was awarded a try after touching down in the right hand corner with Steyn's (Morne) touchline conversion leaving the Boks three in front.

Jones' penalty looked like sending the series right down to the wire but then O'Gara was harshly adjudged to have tackled Fourie du Preez as he gathered O'Gara's high kick and Steyn landed the 54 metre kick to win the game.

And the series.

Lions: Robert Kearney; Tommy Bowe, Brian O'Driscoll, Jamie Roberts, Luke Fitzgerald; Stephen Jones, Mike Phillips; Gethin Jenkins, Matthew Rees, Adam Jones, 4 Simon Shaw, Paul O'Connell capt, Tom Croft, David Wallace, Jamie Heaslip. Replacements: Ross Ford Andrew Sheridan, A-W Jones, Martyn Williams, Harry Ellis, Ronan O'Gara, S Williams.

South Africa: Frans Steyn; JP Pietersen, Adi Jacobs, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana; Ruan Pienaar, Fourie du Preez; Tendai Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis, John Smit; Bakkies Botha,Victor Matfield; Schalk Burger, Juan Smith, Pierre Spies. Replacements: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Deon Carstens, Andries Bekker, Danie Rossouw, Heinrich Brussow, Jaque Fourie, Morne Steyn.

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby19141469
2Ulster Rugby19140565
3Munster Rugby19140563
4Glasgow Warriors18140460
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM