No ALT tag specified
Keith Earls being helped off by Dave Revins and JP Donoghue.
Dan Sheridan
Leinster Hang On
11 November 2011, 8:31 pm
By The Editor
Although they scored the only try of the game, Munster still came up short in the RaboDirect PRO12 clash with Leinster on a final scoreline of 24-19.
They trailed 15-9 at half time and looked out of it in the second half when they went 24-12 down and were reduced to 14 when Denis Leamy received a yellow card.

However they finished the stronger side, minced the Leinster scrum to earn the penalty try and ended the game attacking the Leinster line in added time, their last gasp assault spear-headed by treplaceement Tomas O'Leary whose off-load was knocked on for Leinster to clear to touch.

Johnnny Sexton kicked 21 of Leinster points with Rob Kearney landing a drop goal while Ronan O'Gara kicked four penalties and a conversion.

Munster lost Keith Earls right at the start when he was injured after taking Sexton's kick off, replaced by Danny Barnes.

O'Gara kicked Munster into the lead with a 4th minute penalty but two Sexton strikes in the space of five minutes left the home narrowly in front before O'Gara tied it up again with a 19th minute penalty.

A penalty against Munster for coming in from the side let Sexton edge the home side in front but moments later the same offence from Leinster went unpunished.

A penalty for offside gave Sexton a tap over for a 12-6 lead but O'Gara was again on the mark minutes later.

Shortly before the break a forward pass decision allowed Leinster retain good field position and when the penalty was conceded Sexton restored his side's six point advantage going into the break.

Munster: J Murphy; D Howlett, W Chambers, L Mafi, K Earls; R O'Gara, C Murray; W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell capt; D Ryan, N Ronan, D Leamy. Replacements. D Fogarty, M Horan, J Hayes, P O'Mahony, J Coughlan, T O'Leary, I Keatley, D Barnes.

Leinster: R Kearney; I Nacewa, F McFadden, G D'Arcy, L Fitzgerald; J Sexton, I Boss; C Healy, R Strauss, M Ross, L Cullen capt, D Toner, S O'Brien, S Jennings, J Heaslip. Replacements: S Cronin, H van der Merwe, J Hagan, K McLoughlin, R Ruddock, E Redden, I Madigan, E O'Malley.

Referee: P Gauzere (FFR)

Related News
  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM