DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Team Named | Munster A Side To Face Connacht Eagles

11th February 2021 By The Editor

Munster A Eagles

Jake Flannery starts at inside centre for Munster A. Inpho

The Munster A team has been named for Friday’s Interpro Challenge with Connacht Eagles at the Sportsground (1pm).

Hooker Diarmuid Barron captains the team with an even split of seven senior players and seven Greencore Munster Rugby Academy members in the starting XV.

Darren Sweetnam starts at full-back with Seán French and Liam Coombes on either flank.

Jake Flannery and Alex McHenry form the centre partnership with loanee scrum-half Paddy Patterson and Jack Crowley in the half-backs.

Liam O’Connor, Barron and Roman Salanoa pack down in the front row with Paddy Kelly and Thomas Ahern in the engine room.

A back-row of Alex Kendellen, Jack Daly and Jack O’Sullivan complete the XV.

The bench includes hookers Scott Buckley and Eoghan Clarke as Josh Wycherley and Jeremy Loughman complete the front row cover.

Academy back three player Jonathan Wren is also among the replacements alongside National Talent Squad members Cian Hurley (back row/Garryowen FC), Ethan Coughlan (scrum-half/Ennis RFC) and Conor Phillips (back three/Young Munster RFC).

Match highlights will be available on our Youtube channel in the days following the game. Subscribe here.

Read January’s Academy Update here.

Munster A: Darren Sweetnam; Seán French, Alex McHenry, Jake Flannery, Liam Coombes; Jack Crowley, Paddy Patterson; Liam O’Connor, Diarmuid Barron (C), Roman Salanoa; Paddy Kelly, Thomas Ahern; Alex Kendellen, Jack Daly, Jack O’Sullivan.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Josh Wycherley, Jeremy Loughman, Cian Hurley, Eoghan Clarke, Ethan Coughlan, Jonathan Wren, Conor Phillips.

Connacht Eagles: Conor Dean; Diarmuid Kilgallen, Shane Jennings, Cathal Forde, Oran McNulty; Conor Fitzgerald, Colm Reilly; Paddy McAllister, Dylan Tierney-Martin, Dominic Robertson-McCoy; Cian Prendergast, Darragh Murray; Sean O’Brien, Ciaran Booth, Sean Masterson.

Replacements from: Eoin de Buitlear, Charlie Ward, Conor Kenny, Hubert Costello, Oisin McCormack, Matthew Devine, Donnacha Byrne, Tiernan O’Halloran, Declan Adamson, Joshua Dunne, Diarmuid McCormack


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

There are five Munster representatives on the list of URC award winners for the 2023/24 season with Jack Crowley, Graham Rowntree, Shane Daly, Tadhg Beirne...