DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Shane Daly Named URC Ironman

12th June 2024 By The Editor

Shane Daly with his URC Ironman award ahead of training on Tuesday.

Shane Daly with his URC Ironman award ahead of training on Tuesday. Inpho

Munster Rugby’s Shane Daly has been named as the 2023/24 URC Ironman having started all 18 regular season games for the province, racking up 1,430 minutes.

The Ironman award recognises the player who has racked up the most minutes over the 18 rounds of the URC.

The only 10 minutes he missed during the URC regular season were due to a yellow card and he also played the full 80 minutes of our quarter-final victory over Ospreys last week.

He is the only Irish provincial player to start in all 18 rounds of the URC.

He finished ahead of former teammate Ben Healy, who racked up 1,421 minutes in his first season for Edinburgh Rugby.

Daly also played the most minutes for Munster in 2022/23, racking up an impressive 1,800 minutes on the field in 24 appearances (23 starts). Daly also made three appearances on the Emerging Ireland tour to South Africa and played once for Ireland A.

URC Awards Winners 2023-24 (To Date)

Tackle Machine: Alessandro Izekor (Benetton Rugby)

Turnover King: Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby)

Gilbert Golden Boot: Chris Smith (Vodacom Bulls)

OFX Top Try Scorer: Johnny Matthews (Glasgow Warriors

Ironman Award: Shane Daly (Munster Rugby)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Head Coach Willie Faloon has named the Ireland Men's U20s Match Day Squad for Sunday's World Rugby U20 Championship semi-final against England in Cape Town...