DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Gavin Coombes On Longlist For EPCR Player Of The Year

1st February 2023 By The Editor

Gavin Coombes On Longlist For EPCR Player Of The Year

Heineken Champions Cup Thomond Park Limerick RDS Dublin 14/1/2023 Munster vs Northampton Saints Munster's Gavin Coombes Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

Gavin Coombes has been named on the 15-player longlist for EPCR Player of the Year after his standout performances for Munster in the Champions Cup Pool stages.

Coombes scored four tries in four games and won one Player of the Match award as Munster secured a place in the last 16.

The winner of the award, which is now in its 13th year, will receive the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy in memory of the Munster legend.

Voting is now open here and fans will be in the running to win two VIP tickets with one night’s accommodation for the 2024 Heineken Champions Cup Final in May 2024.

At the conclusion of the semi-final matches in April, the list will be reduced to five players by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judges, and players who have not been included in the initial longlist, but who make a significant impact during the knockout stages of the Heineken Champions Cup and EPCR Challenge Cup, may be considered for the shortlist.

The voting will then re-open and the winner of the 2023 award will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin on Saturday 20 May.


Grégory ALLDRITT (Stade Rochelais)

Gavin COOMBES (Munster Rugby)        

Caelan DORIS (Leinster Rugby)

Elliot DALY (Saracens)

Antoine DUPONT (Stade Toulousain)

Eben ETZEBETH (Cell C Sharks)

Jaden HENDRIKSE (Cell C Sharks)

Siya KOLISI (Cell C Sharks)

Makazole MAPIMPI (Cell C Sharks)

Julien MARCHAND (Stade Toulousain)

Emmanuel MEAFOU (Stade Toulousain)

Jamie OSBORNE (Leinster Rugby)

Garry RINGROSE (Leinster Rugby)

Justin TIPURIC (Ospreys)

Josh VAN DER FLIER (Leinster Rugby)

Judging Panel – Bryan Habana (two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Sarah Hunter (former England captain), Elma Smit (sports presenter and producer), Andy Goode (two-time Heineken Cup winner), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions and Challenge Cup winner)

Roll of Honour – 2022: Josh van der Flier (Leinster Rugby) ; 2021: Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain) ; 2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs); 2019: Alex Goode (Saracens); 2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92); 2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens); 2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens); 2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne); 2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon); 2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon); 2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby); 2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby); 2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European professional club competitions)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Take a look at the stats from the 2023/24 season which saw the Munster's Women's squad reach the Interpro final and the men's squad reach...