DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster A Defeat Ulster A In UL

6th May 2022 By The Editor

Liam Coombes in action against Ulster A.

Liam Coombes in action against Ulster A. Inpho

Munster A and Ulster A enjoyed a good run-out at UL on Friday afternoon with Munster emerging with a 33-22 victory.

Daniel Okeke, Calvin Nash, Liam Coombes, Jake Flannery and Ethan Coughlan touched down with Jack Crowley and Flannery adding two conversions each.

A handful of changes to the announced team saw Ethan Coughlan start at scrum-half with Academy lock Paddy Kelly and UCC scrum-half Andrew O’Mahony joining the squad as replacements. Read the team announcement here.

Munster A hit the front on 20 minutes as Daniel Okeke powered over from close range.

Calvin Nash added to the lead eight minutes later as he intercepted an Ulster pass and raced 90 metres for the second Munster A try.

Liam Coombes, playing at outside centre, scored the third Munster try on 32 minutes after slicing through the Ulster defence with the recovering Aaron Sexton unable to prevent the try. Crowley converted for a 19-0 advantage.

Matt Gallagher was sin-binned just before the break for cynical play and Ulster took advantage as Callum Reid scored from close range and James Humphreys added the extras for a 19-7 half-time score.

A quick-fire Ulster brace from Reid and Shea O’Brien had the sides level by 46 minutes with Humphreys converting O’Brien’s impressive solo effort.

A Humphreys penalty on 60 minutes moved Ulster in front for the first time at 22-19 but Munster finished strongly with two converted tries in the final 15 minutes.

Ulster’s Harry Sheridan was sin-binned for persistent Ulster infringements and Munster took advantage with Coombes offloading for Flannery to score the fourth Munster try.

Flannery’s conversion made it 26-22 to the hosts and Coughlan rounded off the win with Munster’s fifth try late on.

Munster A: Matt Gallagher; Calvin Nash, Liam Coombes, Dan Goggin, Seán French; Jack Crowley, Ethan Coughlan; Liam O’Connor, Scott Buckley, Keynan Knox; Cian Hurley (C), Eoin O’Connor; Jack Kelleher, Ronán O’Sullivan, Daniel Okeke.

Replacements (all used): Kevin O’Byrne, Gus Harrington, Mark Donnelly, Kieran Ryan, Darragh McSweeney, David Maher, Paddy Kelly, Bailey Faloon, Andrew O’Mahony, Jake Flannery, Alex McHenry, Patrick Campbell.

Calvin Nash runs in the second Munster try.

Liam Coombes breaks though to score the third try.

Liam Coombes offloads to Jake Flannery for his try.

Jake Flannery scores the fourth try.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby and the IRFU are pleased to confirm the signing of 25-year-old back three player Thaakir Abrahams on a two-year deal. An extremely fast...