DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Team News | Munster Side To Face Stormers

17th November 2023 By The Editor

Jack Crowley, Calvin Nash and Alex Nankivell in action against Ulster.

Jack Crowley, Calvin Nash and Alex Nankivell in action against Ulster. Inpho

The Munster team has been named for Saturday’s URC clash against Stormers at Thomond Park (5.15pm).

Match tickets are available here.

There are four changes to the side beaten by Ulster in Belfast last week.

Munster captain Peter O’Mahony and Tadhg Beirne return from international duty and go straight into the first XV with fellow Ireland international Conor Murray among the replacements.

Scott Buckley starts at hooker for the first time since his debut in 2021 and makes his 21st Munster appearance.

Academy winger Shay McCarthy starts on his third Munster appearance and is the only change to the backline.

Stephen Archer is also named among the replacements and in line to play his 268th game for Munster, equalling Donncha O’Callaghan’s record of most appearances for the province.

Shane Daly starts at full-back with Calvin Nash and McCarthy on either wing.

Craig Casey and Jack Crowley start together in the half-backs once again with Alex Nankivell and Antoine Frisch continuing their centre partnership.

Jeremy Loughman, Buckley and John Ryan start in the front row with Academy lock Edwin Edogbo and Beirne in the engine room.

O’Mahony, John Hodnett and Gavin Coombes complete the starting XV.

In the replacements, hooker Chris Moore is in line for his senior Munster debut off the bench after joining from Exeter University in 2022.

Josh Wycherley, record-equalling Archer, Tom Ahern and Alex Kendellen complete the back-up in the forwards.

Murray and Rory Scannell are the backline replacements.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Munster: Shane Daly; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Shay McCarthy; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Scott Buckley, John Ryan; Edwin Edogbo, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Chris Moore, Josh Wycherley, Stephen Archer, Tom Ahern, Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Murray, Rory Scannell, Alex Kendellen.

Press Pass

Hear from Defence Coach Denis Leamy and John Ryan ahead of the game.


URC Round 5: Saturday, November 18

Munster v DHL Stormers, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 7: Friday, December 1

Munster v Glasgow Warriors, Musgrave Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

Champions Cup Round 1: Saturday, December 9

Munster Rugby v Bayonne, Thomond Park, 5.30pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 8: Tuesday, December 26

Munster v Leinster, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

Champions Cup Round 4: Saturday, January 20

Munster Rugby v Northampton Saints, Thomond Park, 5.30pm; Buy tickets here

Saturday, February 3

Munster Rugby v Crusaders, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 5pm; Buy final tickets here

URC Round 11: Friday, March 1

Munster v Zebre Parma, Musgrave Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 13: Saturday, March 30

Munster v Cardiff Rugby, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 16: Saturday, May 11

Munster v Connacht, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 18: Saturday, June 1

Munster v Ulster, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here


Related News

Munster had a tough battle on their hands as they ran out for the United Rugby Championship semi-final in Limerick against a strong and resilient...