No ALT tag specified
Munster Supporters Club Player Awards
10 October 2006, 9:59 am
Paul O' Connell and Ian Dowling were honoured by the Munster Supporters Club over the weekend, with O' Connell picking up the Player of the Year and Dowling awarded Young Player of the Year

To cap an absolutely amazing season last year, the Munster Rugby Supporters Club members recently voted for their 2005/2006 Munster Rugby Supporters Player of the Year and also Young Player Of The Year.

Over 4500 members were polled and after a close result, this year s Captain Paul O Connell piped both Ronan O Gara and Trevor Halstead to become the 2005/2006 Munster Rugby Supporters Club Player of the Year.

John Rochford, Chairman, took the opportunity, after the Bourgoin game to present Paul with his award; the second consecutive year Paul has won the award.

For the MRSC s Young Player of the Year award, our three young starlets of Barry Murphy, Tom s O Leary and Ian Dowling were the players to be top of the poll, with Ian, edging out his two team mates to win the Young Player of the Year.

Seen here are John Rochford, chairman, presenting Paul with his award and also Jennifer Kiernan, administrator of the club, presenting Ian with his award.

At the presentation, Jerry Holland thanked the Supporters Club for their continuing financial support towards Munster Rugby and the Munster Rugby Academy.

With the Munster Rugby Supporters Club doubling their membership to 9000 members for this season, that financial support is assured to grow and grow.

Glenn Flanagan PRO

Munster Rugby Supporters Club

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM