No ALT tag specified
Paul O'Connell And Munster Honoured By Rugby Writers.
10 October 2006, 11:07 am
Munster captain Paul O'Connellhas been named the Rugby Writers of Ireland's Player of the Year while Munster win the Team of The Year award

Paul O Connell (Munster and Ireland) has been named GUINNESS RUGBY WRITERS OF IRELAND PLAYER OF THE YEAR and will receive his award at a luncheon in the Killiney Castle Hotel on Wednesday next, November 1st, 2006.

Shannon RFC has, once again, has been voted CLUB OF THE YEAR and the TOM ROONEY AWARD, for making an exceptional contribution to the game over a substantial number of years, goes to former noted referee Kevin Kelleher, Hon. Secretary of the Schools Section of the Leinster Branch, IRFU, for over 50 years.

A new award, THE RUGBY WRITERS OF IRELAND DAVE GUINEY (Perpetual) award for the Team of the Year goes to Munster, in recognition of their defeat of Biarritz in the final of the Heineken Cup.

Two new members of the HALL OF FAME will be inducted, Willie John McBride and his formidable second row partner for several years, Mick Molloy.

Michael Whelan of Guinness and Kieran Rooney, Chairman of the Rugby Writers of Ireland will present the awards.

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby19141469
2Ulster Rugby19140565
3Munster Rugby19140563
4Glasgow Warriors18140460
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM